July 2017 Wrap-Up

Hello nerdlings. July has come and gone. And during July I decided to go graphic novel and manga crazy. So while it looks like I read a lot, keep in mind that there are many many graphics that I can get through quickly. But here what I’ve read this month.

 

1. The Takedown by Corrie Wang

This is a YA whodunit about a girl whose face shows up in a sex tape scandal. Only thing is, it wasn’t her. I really enjoyed this book and have a review here. 4/5 Stars

My Review

2. Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood

I ended up DNFing this one. The writing style was just weird and half the sentences didn’t make sense. Unrated.

3. Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton Β 

This was an excellent contemporary about Adam who is participating in a drug trial for his schizophrenia. I LOVED it. 5/5 Stars

My Review

 

5. StarfireΒ 

An interesting collection. For a first novel in a series, it was easy to follow and interesting. I loved how it used such bright colors. And Starfire herself was so positive. As I didn’t know who she was I struggled to relate her to the DC universe. But that was okay. 4/5 Stars

6. Jem and the Holograms: Showtime

This was so friggin’ fantastic. Great diversity and representation. A storyline that made sense and I was eager to follow. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one. Please read this! 5/5 Stars

7. Gotham Academy vol 3

This was a collection of different stories all done by different artists. I have a feeling if I’d read them all separately it would’ve been interesting. But I was so bored and just wanted to get back to the main story, causing me to skim. Also it just created questions for me about what was going on in Gotham. 2/5 Stars

8. Thor: Goddess of Thunger

Thor has never been my absolute favorite Marvel character. But this collection was pretty interesting. To see how Thor Odinson is suddenly unworthy to hold the hammer and a new Thor emerges on the scene. I felt like it gave you more than enough info for a first in a series and was full of girl power. 5/5 Stars

 

 

I finished up all the available Saga graphic novels. I loved seeing the journey these characters went on. Ratings are as follows.

9. Saga vol 4

5/5 Stars

10. Saga vol 5

4/5 Stars

11. Saga vol 6

4/5 Stars

12. Saga vol 7

5.5 Stars

 

 

13. Kitchen Princess vol 1 &2

This was manga is very similar to Fruitsbasket. There is a love triangle between the main girl who is naive and lonley and these two brothers. One of whom is moody. I enjoyed it for its simplicity. 3/5 Stars

14. Princess Jellyfish vol 1 & 2

There was so much to love about this manga. It’s about geeky eighteen to twenty somethings. I loved seeing older protagonists in manga. And I liked all the talk about being a geeky woman with no style or boyfriend. However there were some surprisingly anti LGBTQ comments and just some not so progressive thinking. I realize this is standard for japaneese manga so I only knocked off one star. 4/5 Stars

15. Orange the complete first collection

OMG! This is everything I would have wanted out of 13 Reasons Why without the terrible underlying theme that your friend’s suicide is your fault. I loved Orange so so much and cannot wait to get my hands on part two. 5/5 Stars

16. Chasing Embers by James Bennett

I received this book from netgalley for review. Thank you netgalley. But I have to say I really struggled to get into it. There was not a lot of action and the even less dialogue. I couldn’t keep my eyes focused on the page long enough. So sadly I ended up DNF-ing this one at about 40%. Unrated

17. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

This book was great. People weren’t lying about it having a slow beginning. But I kept up with it and it got very interesting by the middle. I’m so glad I decided to keep trudging along with it. I’m totally team Arsinoe. What about you? 3/5 Stars

18. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

This is a very polarizing book. People either love it or they hate it. I absolutely loved it!! I loved the characters. I loved the plot. I loved how fast paced it was. I just adored this book. Review to come. 4.5/5 Stars

 

 

These books I listened to on audiobook.

19. The Inexplicable Logic Of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I loved this so much. It’s a beautiful and lyrically written story about dealing with death and grief. 5/5 Stars

20. We Are Okay by Nina Lacour

And I must have been a glutton for punishment because this is also about dealing with grief. The audio was perfect and I highly recommend this rather short story. 4/5 Stars

21. Aristotle and Dante by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I’m so torn on this one because I loved the audio. Lin Manuel did an excellent job. But I went into this thinking it was a love story and that part didn’t happen till the last 15% of the book. It was more about two boys that are friends and one of the boys has a lot to figure out in his head. I did enjoy it though. 4/5 Stars

22. Updrift by Errin Stevens

I really wanted to like this book. It’s about mermaids for goodness sake. And I was pressing on despite some terrible writing. But about halfway through the male character tells the female character, who he has seen once in four years, that he is checking her ovulation so he can put a baby in her. She has kissed him less than a handful of times four years ago, has a fulltime adult job, and just says “okay that sounds great.” Like NOOO. I couldn’t get behind this. Unrated.

23. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

This is a fantasy historical retelling of Lady Jane Grey. It was so much fun to read. I laughed quite a bit. 4/5

24. Kill All Happies by Rachel Cohn

I’m currently listening to this on audio. While not my absolute favorite contemporary, it’s readible and sorta fun.

25. Because You Love To Hate Me an anthology

Started reading this this past weekend. I’m only 3 or 4 short stories in but so far I’m liking most of them. Loved none. And was bored spitless during one. A lot of people have complained about the booktuber essays. I found the first one hilarious. Though the second one more boring than the story it accompanies and.

 

My July Haul

unnamed

Pretty excited to get into these books. Gonna be some good reading up ahead.

 

What was your favorite book you read this month? Favorite book you purchased? Have you read any of these books? Comment down below and let me know. I love chatting with you guys! I hope you’re having a wonderfully bookish day nerdlings. Love y’all. TTFN

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

5 thoughts on “July 2017 Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

