OMG That Song Book Tag

Hey friends. It’s Thursday so I am here with another book tag. WOOHOO. I was tagged by Emma to do this tag one. It was created by Katesbookdate over on youtube. We’re gonna take a dive in my musical life. Be afraid.

1. My Jam: a song you MUST listen to every time it comes on / a book you’ll never forget

Pretty much ANY Needtobreathe song is my jam. I’ve seen them in concert and it was amazing. I love this band so much. They inspire me and yeah I could gush about them forever.

I’ll never forget Geekerella by Ashley Poston and how validated it made me feel as a geeky fangirl. I loved this book so much!

2. Throwback: A song that reminds you of your cringiest times / a book you read during that time.

For me the cringiest times in my life were in college. I was just discovering my mental health issues and there are honestly moments that I avoid thinking about at all costs because of the feelings those moments invoke. I was obsessed with this song around that time. I have a distinct memory of walking around with this on repeat singing at the top of my lungs.

Around this time is when my obsession with The Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. I loved this series so much but I’m worried if I reread it the experience wouldn’t be the same.

3. Replay: a recent song you have on repeat / a recent favorite book

Yes I am your basic white girl. Part of this is because I’m not really in touch with much “recent” music. I’ve fallen out of devouring new music on the regular. So I pretty much know what’s popular. *shrugs*

I recently read the graphic novel Jem and the Holograms vol 1 and really enjoyed it. It wasn’t confusing, the art was bright and easy to look at, and the characters were amazing. Like I now want to watch the original tv series and buy these graphic novels. It’s crazy pants.

4. Gets Me: This song is me / This book is me in book form

I know this song was severely overplayed when it came out but every time I hear it I think of my battle with mental illness and sang at the tops of my lungs. Declaring that I was going to fight and I would come out the other side.

Bookwise it was also hard for me to find a book that IS me. I’ve settled on two. Marbles: Michelangelo, Mania, and Me by Ellen Forney. Which is a non fiction graphic novel about Forney’s struggle with bipolar. Also the recently released Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton. While I don’t struggle with schizophrenia, the way that Adam talked about himself and his struggle with his mental illness mirrored my experience. I used humor to cover my feelings about being “crazy” and was convinced I was broken and a burden to my family.

5. Wut?: Weird but enjoyable song/ a unique book that stood out to you

There is a whole genre of music out there called Wizard Rock. One of the most famous groups is Harry and the Potters. No I’m not making this up. I have a lot of their music on my iPod simply because it makes me laugh. But many of their songs are pretty catchy.

A book I recently read that was unique is The Paper Magician by Charlie M. Holmberg. Its a magical version of London where there are different kinds of magic all based on different materials like paper magic, plastic magic, glass magic, ect. The main character is told she must intern for a paper magician when she wanted to be a metal magical. And once she bonds with paper she can never work with anything else. But she finds herself strangely drawn to this new magic and her mentor. It was very weird but I rather enjoyed it.

6. Let’s Go: Best pump up songs / a book that inspired you

When this comes on in the car, you best be betting I am dancing along and singing at the top of my lungs. Its on every workout playlist I used to make. And for some reason I do karate moves while I dance along. Weird.

Two books that have inspired me are Kisses from Katie by Katie Davis and Hello Me, It’s You edited by Hannah Todd. Kisses from Katie is Katie Davis’ biography where she talks about her journey to become a missionary in Uganda and how she ended up fostering and adopting 14 girls despite being a single young woman at the time. It really inspired my desire to foster later on down the road. Hello Me It’s You is a collection of essays written by people who have struggled with mental illness to their younger selves. It’s beautiful and I sobbed big ugly tears when I read it.

7. Chill: favorite chill or relaxing song / a book you’d curl up with and read on a rainy day.

My chill music is a steady stream of Lifehouse, Matchbox Twenty, Train, Barenaked Ladies, Goo Goo Dolls, and Third Eye Blind. Very early 2000’s. It’s the life I lead and I’m more than okay with it.

I would curl up with any fantasy on a rainy day, especially large ones. But one that is on my shelves waiting for it’s own rainy day is Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth. It’s an adult Rapunzel retelling.

8. Addicting: guilty pleasure / guilty pleasure read

Well we all know that I don’t believe in the term “guilty pleasure.” So I’m not ashamed of my love for either of these. But I do have an odd addiction to some disco music. I am not sure how the happened but it did. And I don’t go back.

A book series I consider addicting mind mush is The Selection by Keira Cass. It was so good. I read each book in like 2 days. I couldn’t put them down.

9. Nostalgia: Throwbacks you look back on fondly / A book you look book back fondly on.

I actually look back fondly on middle school. Yes I was also cringy at this time. But its not painful for me to look back on it. And this music was life. Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, and Brittany Spears the early years. YES PLEASE.

A book I look back fondly on is Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chboksy. I read it at the right time in my life and it really held true with me.

I Tag

Between The Pages | By Hook or by Book | Book Princess Reviews | Journey Into Books

If you weren’t tagged and want to do this then feel free to do it anyway!

 

I hope this was fun for you guys. Do you like any of these songs? What is a throwback song you look back fondly on? Let me know in the comments below. I hope you guys are having a wonderfully bookish week! TTFN.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

9 thoughts on “OMG That Song Book Tag

      1. loisreadsbooks says:

        I was born just in the tail end of the 90’s but it was all my family listened to. Haha that’s brilliant. There is an English singer called Gareth Gates who I saw when I was 3/4. It just takes me back to them 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    Omigosh, this was so much fun, Sydney! I loved reading it and comparing the songs with the books. I had absolutely no clue that Wizard Rock was a thing, but I’m so intrigued by it. It looks like so much fun. XD Geekerella really was brilliant and I loved what you said about the fangirling part. Wonderful tag, and thanks so much for tagging me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

