My Reading Statistics For First Half Of 2017

Hello Nerdlings! I thought now was a good time to update you guys on my reading statistics for the year. We can see where I’m at in my challenges and just how my reading as been going.

First off I’ve read 80 books since January 1st. Yep 80. As this is the first time I’ve done reading statistics I have no idea if this is more or less than last year at this time. But I think 80 is a pretty good number. I’m kind of amazed to be honest. I’ve DNF-ed 4 of these books. Only 5%. Which is good for me. Β Though its important to note that for me DNFi-ing means making it to at least 50% in the book and thus all four are still rated because I rate the portion I HAVE read. Now for some graphs!

My Reading Broken Down Into Graphs

Genre's I've Read

Most of my books were Fantasy, which doesn’t surprise me. What DOES surprise me is that Contemporary is my next biggest category. I figured it would be mystery thriller or graphic novels. Apparently I like Contemporary more than I put off.

 

Star Rating

Rating wise I’ve had a pretty good year. Very few are below 3 Stars and more than half are 4 or 5 Stars. Two things account for this. 1) I don’t hate read. So if I don’t like something I usually put it down within in the first few chapters. And then it doesn’t count towards my “Read Books” because I didn’t make it to 50%. 2) I’m more lenient when rating books. I don’t rate purely on my opinion. I just finished a book that if I rated it subjectively would have gotten a 2 star rating. But because I rate objectively I gave it 3 Stars. So this tends to increase the rating of the books I read.

 

AdultYA

Yeah I pretty much knew this was going to happen. But I enjoy YA so what does it matter? I’m glad I am reading SOME adult though.

 

Book Form

I think this is pretty normal for me. I prefer physical books but I read ebooks in certain situations. Honestly I’m pretty excited with how high the percentage of audio books is. I really just started listening to them in the last few months and usually when I’m either working out or driving. But I’ve found that I rather enjoy them.

 

Book Type

One of my goals this year was to read my own books and borrow books less. I think I’m doing pretty well with this goal. More than half were owned books or arcs I recieved. Meaning that most of the stuff coming from the library is audio books. So that’s pretty nice. Let’s hope I can keep up this track of reading my own dang books!

Now for the challenges.

Rock My TBR Challenge

Here is my original post.Β I have changed some of the books but basically the goal was to read twelve of my own books that I owned before 2017. Here are the ones I’ve completed.

1. Shadow Queeen by C.J. Redwine

2. Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

3. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

4. Queen of Hears by Colleen Oaks

5. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

6. Fruits Baskets Collector Editions vol 2 &3

7. The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude

8. P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

9. Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holberg

 

Tackle Your Own Library Challenge

My original post for this challenge is here. There were 15 challenges and the books you pick you had to already own, not plan to own. Once again, the books I ultimately ended up using weren’t always the original ones I chose but that’s okay. Its my prerogative to change my mind. Here’s what I’ve completed.

1. Series You Meant to start in 2017: A Darker Shade of Magic

2. Contemporary: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

3. Non Ya Book: Royal Wedding and Remembrance by Meg Cabot

4. Cover You’re Not Fond Of: Not Completed

5. Outside Scenary On Cover: Get Even Duology by Gretchen McNeil

6. Over 500 pages: A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas

7. A Recommended Book: The Case Closed manga 1-5

8. A Book with Multiple Authors: Not Completed

9. Pre 2016 Debut Novel: An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

10. #BookishLetter (S,W): Truthwitch and Windwitch by Susan Dennard

11. Book with Chapter Names: The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

12. Title You Love: The Glittering Court by Michelle Mead

13. Book With Royalty : Ice Like Fire by Sarah Raach

14. Personless Cover: Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerhill

15. Stand Alone Novel: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I think I’m doing pretty well on both of these challenges. I only need to read 5 more books to complete both. I’m proud of myself for reading more of my own books this year. I have so many that are unread.

Anyways, this has been my reading statistics for the first half of 2017. Do you do statistics for your own reading habits? Are there any categories I left out that you would’ve liked to have seen? And what genre have you read the most of so far this year. Comment down below. I hope you guys are having a terrific Tuesday! ttfn!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

 

9 thoughts on “My Reading Statistics For First Half Of 2017

  1. Carroll says:

    I LOVE this!!! Sorry I keep dropping out of conversations 😯. I’ve been using my phone to either read with audio on the chrome cast with Chris or watch Le Tour de France. Where did you get the graphs? They are gorgeous 😍
    I’m a little worried to see how my stats are going, don’t have as much time at work to read while waiting…
    Hope we can meet up on Sunday

    Like

Leave a Reply

