Mini Reviews For Sequels

Hello bookish friends. As you know I made June’s TBR the month of sequels. I tried to fit as many sequels in as I could. Today I’m here to give you small reviews of said sequels and just let you know which ones were great and which ones were “eh”.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

27840861

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

An excellent sequel and finale to a duology I love. These characters have my heart. I felt all the feels while reading this story. I liked that they didn’t spend the whole book trying to get Inej back. There was so much going on in this book yet it felt really well melded together. Β And I would reread it in a heartbeat. It has a half star lower than the first book, Six Of Crows, just because there were parts where it dragged and I would see my interest waning. Luckily the chapters were short and each new chapter brought a change in POV so this wasn’t a huge deal. I highly recommend this series. I need more friends to gush about this with.

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

29939390

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

I mostly enjoyed this sequel. Similar to the first book, Dennard jumps into the story. But it felt like she started in the middle of a plot instead of at the beginning. So I was confused and bored during different parts of this book. Also she added Vivia’s POV. And while I like seeing character growth, because we had previously never heard from her and been told she was villian, the change in character felt like a dramatic shift without much foundation. For these reasons I gave the book a lower score. But if you are highly invested in this story I still recommend picking this one up. The character development is pretty awesome for the other main characters. And I enjoyed seeing Isuelt and Aeden’s friendship blossom.

Avenged by Amy Tintera

31371485

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

OH EM GEE this sequel was flippin’ amazing. Like from the moment I picked it up until I finished I was glued to the page. I couldn’t put this down. There is action, romance, and adventure. I loved seeing how Em’s sister Olivia developed and was excited to see the direction her character takes. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Em and Cas. They are precious. And just please read this series. This is only book two so I have to wait another year before I have the last one. UGGGH! I loved this book.

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

31915795

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

I listened to this is audio format. Which if you know me, you know that I usually can only stand listening to non fiction in audio format. So I didn’t think this would workout. But I was pleasantly surprised to become addicted to it. I read the first book in this series of companion novels last year with my best friend. And we decided to read this one this month. It was funny, beautiful, and had some great mental disability rep. I loved seeing how the characters treated and talked about the main character’s autistic brother Emory. The romance was sweet and just so relatable. I loved seeing the different aspects of family and friendship explored in this book. If you’re a fan of the Anna and the French Kiss series because of the way it was written and the romance then I highly recommend you pick up this series. You’ll thank me later.

That is all for now. I hope you guys are having a marvelous Monday! Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these series and are interested in the sequel. Β TTYL TTFN.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

 

One thought on “Mini Reviews For Sequels

  1. Molly's Book Nook says:

    I still haven’t read Crooked Kingdom. I keep putting it off, I’m scared. I still need to read Truthwitch too haha I keep putting that one off because of all the mixed reviews I’ve read. I loved Ruined, but Avenged didn’t impress me as much. I’ll definitely still read the next book, though πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

