Fierce Fangirl Fridays

Hey Nerdlings. I have been searching for something to breakup my Five Things Fridays during the month. Sometimes I read enough I just add and extra review but other times I don’t for one reason or another. Well I found this meme over at Too Much of A Fangirl and decided that I will start partaking in it when the time is right. Basically this is just me fangirling over whatever my most recent obsession is. Today’s Topic is Linkin Park.

linkin-park-billboard-650

Some of you youngins are probably not into Linkin Park or may not even know their music. But they were my high school years. I still remember which friend of mind introduced me to them.( Thank you Lauren!) She had a personal obsession with “Numb” from their album Meteora and it transferred over into my musical loves. I still remember all the lyrics to that song. Their music was so powerful and full of the intensity I felt in my own life.

Why am I obsessing over them now though? Because they released an album on May 19th!!! Be still my beating heart. My childhood is making a comeback. Between Linkin Park and Blink -182 I don’t know if I can breathe anymore. Linkin Park’s music has this way of over powering me and overwhelming my soul. Some people say the music is moody and depression. But I find it uplifting and spiritual. Chester’s iconic voice soothes me when I need it most.

I’ve seen where quite a few fans are enraged that their music sounds more “poppy”. In my humble opinion their music is just going through the evolution. It’s growing and changing just like people. They were never going to make the exact same sound for the rest of their lives. I’m personally impressed that Linkin Park is still the same original members and they still enjoy making music together. They’ve stood the test of time.

Okay so part of what fed my recent obsession is that Linkin Park did some appearances on different big youtube channels to promote their new album. One of those channels was my beloved Good Mythical Morning. Chester and Mike are funny, kind and so musically talented. Even when singing about hot cheetos.

 Mike Shinoda also appeared on FBE who produces all of those ” __ reacts to __” videos. They made one where Mike is reacting to “Teens react to Linkin Park”. I love watching these videos for some reason. Shinoda is too kind and doesn’t even get angry when the teens insult his music. I was kind of shocked that there were teens who didn’t recognize his music at all. Like am I really that old? *Deep Breathe* Do I need a walker? I hope no.

And finally, before I gush too much I thought I would leave you with my favorite songs from the album. Feel free to listen and FEEL.

I hope you guys have enjoyed my fangirling. If you’re a Linkin Park fan then please leave me a comment down below and let’s chat. I hope you’re having a friggin fantastic day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

10 thoughts on “Fierce Fangirl Fridays

  1. Destiny @ Howling Libraries says:

    That Teens React video stunned me. They always make me feel old (turning 25 in a little while), but that one especially just wrecked me a bit haha! LP was my childhood as well. I first heard them when I was maybe 10 years old and I remember them literally changing my life. I know the new sound is different from what we’re used to hearing out of them, but that doesn’t mean I love it any less. I also keep hearing people say Chester, specifically, has “lost his edge”, but if anything, I think their new sound highlights something he’s always had, which is an AMAZING range. That melodic singing he’s showcasing is so gorgeous. Ugh. I could ramble about them for ages (as well as my other life-changing childhood faves, like Three Days Grace, who I miss the Adam Gontier days of HORRIBLY). The early- and mid-2000s had THE best music and I refuse to let anyone tell me otherwise lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      I totally agree!!! Chester’s range is so amazing. I love hearing the new things he can do for their sound. And I love their new sound. I may feel old thanks to that video but I don’t care. LP is a drug for me. It gives voice to the feelings deep within.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Naomï @Bookish Sins and Wins says:

    I didn’t even know Linkin Park had released a new album. I’ve probably been listening to too many older songs. ‘Numb’ remains my favourite song. I am weird with my music taste, because I love LP, Three Days Grace (mentioned above) and many others. But on the other hand I listen to a lot of indie music.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Hermit Librarian says:

    I also got into Linkin Park back in high school, though it was an earlier album (Hybrid Theory). 😀 I don’t mind their pop sound, to be honest. Yes, it’s different than their metal sound that was characteristic of their early music, but why can’t bands go through an evolution? I think it’s kind of harsh to expect bands to HAVE to only be one thing forever. They burn out that way and then we get nothing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

