Top Ten Fictional Mothers

Hello, my friends. It’s Tuesday, and what does that mean? Another Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and Bookish. Today’s topic is in relation to mother’s day which happened this past Sunday. Happy Mother’s Day to those mothers reading this! At first I wanted to do top mothers in YA before I realized, there just aren’t that many. In fact it would be way easier if I made a list of top worst mothers in YA. Parents are known for being absent and abusive in YA, and it’s kinda true. I expanded my search to fictional mothers and came up with a list of ten going from least best to my favorite.

10. The mother from Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

7488244

Now I never made it past book two in this paranormal trilogy. But one of the things I liked about it was that the mother never hid her paranormal genes from her children. She told them she was part angel and so were they. She was ready to teach them to fly when the time was right and wanted them to find and achieve their “life goal.” Usually in paranormal YA the parent is dead, or lies to their kid about being otherworldly. This was a refreshing change.

9. Linda from Bob’s Burgers

572ec1f239f24a63bf64378c80879b5f

While there are times that Linda gets on my nerves for her lack of parenting skills, for the most part she is trying her best. She is present in her children’s lives and sincerely loves them. She’s a funny and supportive mother, which sounds pretty good to me.

8. Ms. Khan in the graphic Ms. Marvel

b20b9614986933ec8bb00738bee8802bb6b12fc7_hq

I liked Kamala’s mom because of what happens when Kamala reveals her secret identity to her mother. Instead of going off about how she is a teenager and is being reckless her mother hugs her and says, “I know, I’ve known for weeks.” She tells her daughter that she is worried for her safety but if this is something she must do then so be it as long as her grades don’t slip. What a great and encouraging attitude to have with your daughter.

7. The step mother in 10 Things I Can See From Here

31019571

I really liked how Maeve’s step mother Claire wasn’t written into the evil step mother build. Nope while Maeve’s real parents either abandoned her or were back on drugs, her step mother was there for Maeve in her time of need. Claire treated Maeve like she was her real daughter by listening to her, encouraging her to try new things, and also telling her when her decisions weren’t sound. I really liked Claire’s relationship with Maeve and which more step parents were portrayed this way.

6. Adam’s Mom in A List of Cages by Robin Roe

25613472

I adored Adam’s mom in A List of Cages. She was there for her son and also a good foster parent. It’s rare we see the foster system portrayed so positively either. But she loved Julian. When Julian was in the hospital she stayed with him, even though he wasn’t her foster child anymore! She showed up for Julian in a way few others had. She wanted to be his parent. She wanted to love on Julian. And that was one of my favorite parts of this book.

5. Luz from The May Queen Murders

MAY_QUEEN_MURDERS_HJ

Ivy’s mom Luz moved into the small community of the Glen from mexico. And while she conformed in many ways, she never lost her spanish culture. She taught her daughter both the language of the Glen and Spanish. She taught Ivy the Mexican superstitions and gave her every opportunity to learn about where her mother came from. I mostly liked that she was there for her daughter without being over baring. Luz worried about Ivy and took care of her. But she wasn’t trying to control her. It was a very positive mother daughter relationship.

4. The mom’s from the Pants Project

30095473

I adored Liv’s mothers. They were always supportive of Liv’s identity as a girl. They loved her for who she was. They use team parenting and knew when Liv needed a hug and when she needed to be grounded. Most of all they pushed Liv to stand up against people who bully and tell you that your differences are “wrong” or weird. They raised a daughter who believed in themself and knew how to handle conflict.

3. Haley James Scott

HJS

Another TV mom. If you know me, then it should be no surprise that I bring up Haley, as I was once obsessed with One Tree Hill. I love Haley as a mother because she is real with her son, and I assume daughter though we never got to see much of that. She sets boundaries for Jamie, she plays with Jamie, and she talks to him about real life. She doesn’t keep important secrets from him but is upfront in a gentle way.  She encourages Jamie to dream big and to always be a good friend. She is honestly one of my favorite TV mothers.

2. Ms. Weasley

13ea7f8af115af0c

I mean she HAD to make the list. My favorite literary mother of all time. She intimately knows her children, listens to them, loves them, and disciplines them. She has created a warm and inviting environment for her children to come home to.  She also fights for her children, literally.  Basically Molly Weasley is just a BAMF.

1. Lorelai Gilmore

141001054129-gilmore-girls-story-body-2-story-top

Yeah, like you didn’t see this coming. Lorelai has the best relationship with Rory. They are best friends first and mother and daughter second. She is involved in her daughter’s life and fosters feelings of encouragement and unbreakable support. She talks to Rory like she’s an adult and not a kid. She knows when to lay the mom card down and when to talk it through.  Their relationship is full of understanding, friendship, and laughter. I love love love her relationship with Rory.

These are my top ten fictional mothers. Do you agree with any of the moms on this list? Talk to me in the comments. I hope you have a great day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Fictional Mothers

  1. Sydney @ Fire and Rain Books says:

    OMG. You’re last three are just so accurate. Even though Lorelei annoyed me sometimes, she’s amazing. Also Haley is just one of my favorite characters. And Molly Weasley is the ultimate fictional mom to me. She’s not only a mom to her kids, but her kids’ friends, and that’s important.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie says:

    Lovely post! I really liked Adam’s mom in List of Cages just as well – such a supportive, amazing mom. Also, that book was very beautiful and heartbreaking.
    And obviously, Molly!! ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

