Discussion of the upcoming Disney live action movies

Hello bookish ones! Today I wanted to Rant/Rave about something close to my heart: Disney. I’ve been a fan of Disney since I was a wee child. My mom tells the story that when I was between one and three the only show I would sit still and watch for more than thirty minutes, without getting up, was the original Winnie the Pooh. I’ve seen MOST Disney movies, though I admit not all, and have fond feelings attached to them. Disney’s new trend is to take their classic films and remake them as live action. So far they’ve done Alice in Wonderland, Cinderella, Maleficent, Pete’s Dragon, Tarzan, The Jungle Book, and Beauty and the Beast. Some of these were good and some of them were … not so good. I’ve at least mildly enjoyed all of them but Pete’s Dragon. (My soul!) There were definitely ones that stood out as better however.

I have for you a video from Insider where they discuss the next 19 films Disney is making into live action movies. Yes you read that right. 19 movies that are already preplanned and will be shot and released within the next 10ish years. I have some very mixed feelings about this. Like VERY. I invite you to watch the video then keep reading as I give a response to each animated film that is now being renade.

Next 19 Live Action Disney Movies Coming To Theaters

1. Mulan (2018)

Alright, this could be good. A female director who will actually have a good budget. I have to say that I’m a little disappointed that it will not be using the original music. Granted Mulan was never a musical. But “Let’s Get Down To Business” is an iconic Disney song that never ceases to bring joy to my heart and make me jump up and start dancing.

2. Lion King ( 2019)

Okay, I’m actually pretty excited about this one as well for two main reasons. One, it’s directed by Jon Favreau. He is known for directing the Iron Man movies and the live action Jungle Book. I actually really enjoyed the live action jungle book because the story wasn’t a direct copy of the original, but rather expanded on the story. And also the animals looked like real freakin’ animals. No bad CGI!! The other reason I’m excited about this one is the actors whose names are already attached to it. Seth Rogen and Donald Glover are pretty awesome. And lord have mercy they got the original voice of Mufasa, a.k.a. God, to reprise his roll at the king of the jungle. Heck yes, I will see this.

3. Dumbo

Okay, this is one I’m worried about. Tim Burton is known for his directing style. His films are always oddly colored and make you feel like you just did acid. Honestly, Alice and Wonderland was a great series for him to direct. I bet Tim and Lewis Carroll would’ve been great friends in their weirdness. But Dumbo is NOT that kind of movie. It’s supposed to be moving and sentimental. The colors are NOT bright or ridiculously dark. I’m doubting I’ll go see this one in theaters.

4. The Sword in the Stone

Aren’t there already like a hundred King Arthur movies out there? I can count five without even trying. What is going to make this one so special? I mean besides Disney’s name being attached.  This movie wasn’t even all that iconic it is time. Its a classic that people liked but not usually one that they loved so much they broke their VHS copy. (Yes, my brothers and I did this to multiple VHS tapes.) I’ll probably pass and wait till it’s out of DVD to borrow it from Redbox.

5. Prince Charming

The only way I can see this going well is if Disney really gets on this idea of making fun of the Prince Charming stereotype.  I only see this movie doing well  this is more of a comedy than grand romance I can see it doing alright. It would be cute if they used all of the prince charmings from their repertoire of films to mock this character archetype. *crosses fingers*

6. Aladdin

Of course, another great classic so it obviously MUST be remade. Hopefully it look as good as Beauty and the Beast. Especially if they are going to follow the story to a tee. I would like it if they cast diverse actors since the film takes place in Arabia. But we all now Hollywood’s history of white washing. Also the guy directing it is known for very intense action movies. For these reasons I’m skeptical about this film. But I’ll give it a chance. Because who didn’t go on pretend carpet rides as a kid while belting out “A Whole New World”?

7. Genies

I’m very torn on this movie. For one, was it really NEEDED? I mean it would be cool to learn the genies story but not cool enough to make a movie. This is one of those movies that makes me think they just ran out of ideas and wanted to remake everything! Plus, I’m a little bit personally biased. Hearing anyone voice the genie besides Robin Williams will both annoy me and break my tiny heart. Williams IS the genie. UGHHH

8. Cruella (2018)

I’m actually looking forward to this one. What started my love of retellings was the book/musical Wicked. Which is a prequel from the villain’s point of view. Since then I’ve been rather obsessed with similar stories. Plus, I want to know what drove a woman crazy enough to make a coat out of literal dog skins. I mean she would have be nutzo. Oh and Emma Stone is bae. So duh I’ll be in theaters for this one.

9. Christopher Robin ( Winnie the Pooh remake)

I am so very concerned about this one. This is my favorite set of Disney characters ever. If it truly focuses on Christopher Robin, and stays with him as a human, the movie has some possibility. But if they switch into CGI and adventure around the Hundred Acre Woods I will probably be very upset. Ewan McGreggor is already cast to play Christopher Robin so I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

10. Little Mermaid

I’m looking forward to this only because its my favorite Disney princess of all time. Plus there aren’t many remakes like there are with some of the other films. Hopefully with the current technology they’ll be able to make the underwater scenes seem realistic. I’ll of course be seeing this opening night.

11. Peter Pan

Really? Another one? Warner Bros JUST released a live action retelling in 2015. And there are so many other retellings!! No like for real. I can come up with five again off the top of my head. This is ridiculous and an unnecessary remake.

12. Tinker Bell

So now we are so desperate for material we are just gonna expand on anything and everything available? Alright…. Bad call Disney, BAD CALL.

13. James in the Giant Peach

See now this is a movie that Tim Burton should remake. Because Roald Dahl was all kinds of messed up in the head. The original is kinda creepy when I think about it as an adult. If they get a director who is intouch with his weird side and ready to adapt the movie is this way then I think it’ll do well.

14. Pinocchio

This might be okay. It’s a pretty old classic so at least there’s been some time between its release and the remake. I’ve actually never seen the whole movie in one sitting. Just pieces here and there that eventually made up the whole movie.  It will be cool to see Pinocchio to become a live action real boy at the end. I’m sure it’ll be a very moving moment.

15. Jungle Book 2

I’m down with this one as long as it’s not based off of the animated Disney film The Jungle Book 2. Because that movie was awful. If we get an original story I’m sure this one will be a good watch.

16. Maleficent 2

I’m kind of confused about where this story will go? The ending of the last one brought Maleficent’s backstory up to where it overlapped with Aurora’s. So I don’t know how much more backstory we can get. I did really enjoy Maleficent though so I will give it the benefit of the doubt.

17. Chernabog

I had no idea who this creature was until my husband showed me. While I have no opinion on this movie as a result, my husband is actually very excited for it. He says this was his favorite creature created by Disney and he is looking forward to Chernabog’s story.

18. Snow White

Once again there are already some recent live action remakes of this film. I guess it’ll depend on what story they intend to tell. In the original many of the characters lacked personality. So at least they have a lot of freedom to expand. And I do actually like the story of Snow White so I guess I’ll have to see what they make of it.

19. Rose Red

This could be another of those “ran of material” films but I think if they enterwine this story with their remake of Snow White it could turn out just as beautiful a film as Beauty and the Beast. If Rose makes her appearance in their live action Snow White, and then they expand her story in Rose Red, it would make for a pretty intriguing film. I’m kind of looking forward to seeing what Disney does with this story.

Well that has been my response and rants about the upcoming Disney movies. Are there any remakes that you’re excited about? Any that we have differing opinions about? Let me know down in the comments! I hope you guys have a magical day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

11 thoughts on “Discussion of the upcoming Disney live action movies

  1. Bookworm Ink says:

    Actually Tim Burton has directed non dark movies. Such as Big Eyes, Big Fish, Peewee Herman, and lots others. Just because he’s popular movies are dark and different, doesn’t mean he can’t do cheerful and “normal”. You should look into those other movies before writing it off. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maddie A. says:

    I’m looking forward to most of these movies! But I am kinda sad that Mulan won’t be a musical because I really love the songs… And I don’t think anyone could ever replace Robin Williams as the Genie 😦
    But I guess we’ll see! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Molly's Book Nook says:

    I’m super nervous for Lion King because that is my all-time favorite Disney movie and they CANNOT fuck it up. I hope they get Jeremy Irons and James Earl Jones again, though. If not, it might not be the same. I’m also biased about Robin Williams and Genie. Like, I want the movie…but I only want it with Williams and well, I can’t have that. So now I’m sort of on the fence about it. Although, I really want Aladdin and The Little Mermaid! I’m excited for those. Also, agree that some of these just seem like they ran out of material – and we really don’t need another Peter Pan movie, my goodness.

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bibliopathictendencies says:

    I must admit, I’m actually excited for all of these. I really enjoyed the live action Beauty and the Beast. And as far as I’m concerned… if I’d seen it and not liked it, I’d forget it and move on. I will always have the animated movie. To me, these live actions movies can’t “ruin” the originals. Either they’re good, their supplements, I like them, I watch both. Or they’re bad and… what? What’s the worst that happens? You have to pretend it doesn’t exist? I know there are a ton of King Arthur and Peter Pan movies but… I just put in my wishlist for more of them. Sooooo can’t lie. I’m excited!

    Totally agree with you on the Tinker Bell thing though… I love Peter Pan, but I do not like Tinker Bell. Never have. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      Its not that it’ll ruin the original for me. Just that it will not honor the original and some of these are my absolute favs. I feel like it’s a waste of money to not do it right. But i see where you’re coming from too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

