April Wrap-Up

Hey friends. April is over! I’m pretty excited for May and the adventures that its going to bring. But before I get too swept away let me tell you about April. First of all I read a lot of books.

 

1.  A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

In case you live under a rock and haven’t heard of this book, it’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling set in a world with faeries. This was a reread for me so I could move on in the series.  4/5 Stars.

2. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This is the sequel to ACOTAR. I went into it expecting to hate it simply because it was so over hyped. So I just automatically expected to be disappointed. But this book totally delivered for me and I LOVED it! 4.5/5 Stars.
Here is my discussion related to ACOMAF

3. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

This is a fictional retelling of the Black Lives Matter movement. It is powerful, intense, and a story that needs to be read by everyone. It left a long lasting impression on me that I’ll remember for quite a while. 5/5 Stars.
Review

4. Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

I recieved this as an eArc through Netgalley. Violet Grenade is a psychological thriller. It was less mystery thriller and more suspense thriller. The main character has dissociative identity disorder, though this is never explicitly stated. It kept my attention the whole book. I read it in a day. But it was never super scary. Review to come in May. 4/5 Stars

5. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Excellent world building and character development. Engaging book that keep me hungry for more. It also made me incredibly anxious. Read my review to find out why. 4/5 Stars.
Review

6. Talking As Fast As I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls by Lauren Graham. Audio book narrated by Lauren Graham

This audio book was fantastic. I’ve mentioned before that I like celebrity nonfiction because it’s narrated by the celebrity. Also Gilmore Girls and Lauren Graham hold a special place in my heart. I laughed and I cried while listening to this while I walked on the treadmil. It was touching and easy to listen to. 5/5 Stars

7. Fruits Basket collector edition Vol 2

This was an alright read for me. It had some good stories to continue Tohru’s journey with the Sohma family. It was enjoyable enough to read. And I liked the characters. But there was some sexist and anti LGBT behavior. I know that things are different in the Japanese culture so different behaviors are normalized. But it was uncomfortable and unsettling to see the characters talk to each other in such a way. 3/5 Stars

8. Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari. Audio book narrated by Lauren Graham.

Interesting take on romance in the modern age. Ansari did a ton of research into how dating, love, and marriage has changed in the past decades. This book was definitely more statistical that I was expecting. But I do appreciate all the research and data that went into the making of this book. It made his theories and hypothesis more convincing. Also Ansari’s narration added a little something humorous to the mix. 4/5 Stars

 

9 Blankets by Craig Thompson

This giant graphic novel was a short memoir for a time in Craig’s life when he growing, handling new ideas and falling love. The graphics are easy enough on the eyes though no pleasurable. Which honestly fits the story well. This story was sad, tragic, and kind of oppressive at points. It was a good read and I do recommend it. Trigger Warning for abuse and religion. 4/5 Stars

10. Hunted by Meagan Spooner

This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. One of the better retellings in my opinion that I’ve read. But the love story aspect was a  little lacking. I did enjoy the writing and the characters a great deal though. 3.5/5 Stars

11. Sleepless in Manhattan by Sarah Morgan

I DNF-ed this about 50% of the way through. The character’s lacked personality. The brother was over bearing. His sister was impulsive to the point of lacking intelligence. And I just couldn’t read it anymore. 0/5 Stars

12. Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher

I listened to this out audio book as well. It was interesting to say the least. I had no idea that Fisher had undergone electroshock therapy in order to manage her bipolar disorder. The book was both tragically sad and humorous. Fisher is slightly crass and definitely speaks/writes without thinking about faux pas or being politically correct. If that kind of stuff bothers you then you’ll probably find this book problematic.  However I enjoyed hearing her voice as she told us story after story of her life from childhood to present. 4/5 Stars

 

13. The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude

Pretty good mystery for a debut author. Felt very atmospheric and like I was living an urban legend. Review to come. 4/5 Stars

14. By Your Side by Kasie West

I was oddly inspired to start reading my Kasie West collection because one of her books is my bookclub pick next month. This one was cute and yet dealt with the pretty serious topic of anxiety. I did really like the main character and was right there with her as she was experience her panic attacks. Only downside… I wasn’t a fan of the love interest. Like personally I would have passed. Just saying. But I still recommend this book. 4/5 Stars

15. On the Fence by Kasie West

And I continued my foray into Ms, West’s collection of books. I really enjoyed this one for it’s boy next door aspect. We all know I love the best friend archetype. There were moments when I had issues with certain characters and ideas being presented. But for the most part I loved this one as well. 4/5 Stars

Uppercase

I was getting the Uppercase subscription box every month. Here is what came this month.

unnamed

-Hogwarts notebook
-Defy the Stars Magnet
– Defy the Stars book, signed by author Claudia Gray
– J.R.R. Tolkien bookmark by Ink. and Wonder designs

Overall I was pretty excited about this box.

I think I had a pretty fantastic month in reading. What was your favorite book you read this month? Come talk to me in the comments. I hope you guys are having a lovely day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

3 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. bibliopathictendencies says:

    Wow! What a month. And it seems like you enjoyed a lot of them, which to me is always the most important thing. I feel like booktube and book blogs are going to BLOW UP since ACOWAR is coming out (what? tomorrow??) and I’ve not read it and I will be so left out. I feel like I just finally have to bite the bullet and give it a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

