Movies I’ve Watched Recently

Hello friends. Today I thought I would talk about movies. My husband and I go to the movies at least once a month, if not twice. Since we live in Austin, there are many great theaters to choose from. Two of our favorite companies are iPic and Alamo. The iPic has the big cushioned recliner chairs and provide a small pillow and a blanket so that you can be super comfortable while watching your movie.  They also serve a full menu of drinks and food so you can eat dinner while you watch. The Alamo theaters serve a full menu as well. But our favorite thing about them is they show old movies, do events, and show a lot of indie movies. We watch a lot of anime movies at the Alamo near us. I thought today I’d give some mini reviews for the movies we’ve watched together recently.

1.  Logan

logan-2017-movie-review-x-men-wolverine-hugh-jackman-patrick-stewart

This is the story of what happens after the X-men have disbanded. It’s based off the marvel comic “Old Man Logan”.  Logan is old and suffering from a mysterios ailment while taking care of his old friend Dr. X. The doctor is has Alzheimer disease. Which is probably the worst disease for someone who has mind powers. Logan’s attempts to remain hidden are upturned however when a young mutant with similar powers to the Wolverine is dropped on his doorstep.

My husband is a big X-Men fan and really wanted to see this, so we went. I’ve never been a fan of all the blood that accompanies a Wolverine story but it wasn’t that hard to cover my eyes or look away. For his journey, it makes sense that the directors used an R rating. What made me really enjoy the movie was the heartfelt moments and the young girl Laura. I teared up twice during this movie and full on cried another time. Dafne Keen did a great job as the newest mutant and I really liked seeing her journey.

2. Beauty and the Beast

Beauty-Beast-Live-Action-Movie-Details

This is Disney’s live-action remake of their 1991 hit by the same name. I fangirled over this movie so much and couldn’t wait to see it in theaters. First of all let me say that the aesthetics of this movie were on point. I feel like every new scene had me wowed and getting cold chills. Emma Watson’s acting was alright. Unpopular opinion but she was kind of Hermione. But that’s perfectly okay. I enjoyed Luke Evan’s acting the best which is funny because Gaston is one of my least favorite disney characters. I will say there was a bit too much CGI for my personal taste. When the cameras would pan a room, the walls of the room would come out blurry. Like damn it! I wanted to see the library. But overall I loved this movie. The new songs added to the soundtrack are some of my favorites. I’ve pretty much been singing Evermore on a loop. And just like when I was a child, I cried when the Beast died and came back to life. This movie touched my heart and I can’t wait to watch it again and again.

3. Your Name

yourname

This is an anime movie that came out last year in Japan. It won all kinds of awards and this April made to theaters in America. As a fan of Japanese anime I knew I wanted to see this.  It’s about two high school kids who realize that they’re are swapping bodies every time they dream. It was compelling, sweet, and one of my new favorite stories. The animation was some of the best I’ve seen in a years. Like I was in awe, jaw on the floor. Probably because it was mostly done by hand. The soundtrack, all composed and performed by the Radwimps, fit perfectly with the story and really kindled my heart. I’ve been playing it as background music while I work. If you like anime then I highly recommend that you go see this one.

9 thoughts on “Movies I’ve Watched Recently

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      We found it b/c we googled it. I knew it was coming to theaters but only in select theaters. Luckily I live in Austin so we havea few theaters that show indie stuff and animes. I would totally search for it near your area though. It was so good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

