The Emoji Book Tag

Hello book friends. It’s time for another book tag. I’ve seen this going around and knew I had to do it because I tend to use emojis a lot. What you do is pick 5 of your favorites (or more than 5 in my case) and then you pick a book that goes with that emoji. Finally tag a few people. I picked the emojis that I use the most often.

1. The not even a little bit ok face. (Or sad/disappointed face for normal people) : A Book that was extremely disappointing.

white-frowning-face

I’m gonna go with Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves. There was so much in this book that made me uncomfortable and want to throw it across the room. Between the problematic representation and the cousin kissing rape I was just not okay with this book AT ALL.

2. Heart Eyes Emoji: A book you can’t stop fangirling over.

Heart_Eyes_Emoji

Obviously this is Geekerella by Ashley Poston. I cannot stop talking about this dang book. It was not only a cute contemporary but the message behind it warmed my heart. I felt belonging and understanding. It validated my fangirl life. And the romance was so darn sweet.

3. The *Shrugs* emoji: A book that was alright. Not wonderful Not awful.

shrug-796x398

Shadowqueen by C.J. Redwine. While there was nothing significantly wrong with this book I had a hard time getting into it. I was being nit picky and just not enjoying it. So it wasn’t the worst book I’ve ever read but it wasn’t a new favorite or anything. I’m sure other people will love it.

4. The “HMMM” emoji: A Book that made you think.

download

The last one to make me really think was Piecing Me Together by Renée Watson. This is diverse contemporary about a poor black girl and the “opportunities” other people think she needs. It really made me rethink the way I view my students and the way I interact with the world.

5. The Eye rolling Emoji: A book/ character that made you roll your eyes.

face-with-rolling-eyes

The older sister in Gilded Cage by Vic James had me rolling my eyes. She knew that Gavar had killed his last girlfriend for trying to runaway with his child. (Not a spoiler! Happens in the prologue). Yet she tried to become involved with his brother Jenner. It just seemed so idiotic to me. You know this family is bad news bears yet you actually think that acting on your feelings is a good idea. BAD CALL!!

6. Laughing Emoji: The last book to make you laugh.

smilelaugh

The last book that had me laughing outloud was City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare. I can’t help it. Simon’s quips always get me. And Jace is pretty funny sometimes as well.  I think the laughter helped the overall darker tone that the story carried. Kept the reader from getting sunk in a never ending hole of scared and depressed.

7. Shed a tear emoji: A book that made you emotional.

crying-face

This is without a doubt A List of Cages by Robin Roe. The stuff that goes down in this book broke my heart and ripped it up. It’s real and it’s tough. I loved the representation and just this book over.

8. The silly emoji: The last book/character that was super weird but in the best way.

face-with-stuck-out-tongue-and-winking-eyeJackaby by William Ritter. This character is zany and weird but I love him. He is the definition of this emoji. Jackaby is like if you put Sherlock together with magical creatures.

I Tag

Cristina | Hilary | Syc | Lauren | Payton

I hope you guys enjoyed this tag. If I didn’t tag you feel free to do this anyway! Let me know down in the comments if you use emojis and if so, what your favorite one is.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

11 thoughts on “The Emoji Book Tag

  1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Loved your answers, Sydney! Oh I wasn’t aware there were so many issues with Blood Rose Rebellion… I’ve seen so many great reviews about it from fellow bloggers! Thanks for the heads-up.
    Gilded Cage and Shadow Queen were two others I was hoping to read sometime soon but I’m more or less aware of their flaws.
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      If you read my review for BRB I don’t just hate on it. I try and just let people know what I found issues with but it may work out for __ people. But you’re right that few people are talking about the forced kisses and cousin kissing.

      Like

      1. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

        Yeah, I understand. I try to do the same. A lot of times, it’s just a matter of preference and some people might brush off what might be a big concern for others. So everyone’s experience is different.
        Still, I like to be prepared to notice that type of thing beforehand, just as long as it’s not a spoiler.

        Like

Leave a Reply

