I Dare You Book Tag

RULES:
You must be honest
You must answer all the questions
You must tag at least 4 people

1. What book has been on your shelf the longest?

On MY shelf? Probably my copy of Pride and Prejuice by Jane Austen. But I stole my mom’s copy of The Outlaws of Sherwood Forest by Robin McKinley and it’s been on a shelf in my home for some time.

2. What is your current read, your last read, and the book you’ll read next?

My current read is Vigilante by Kady Cross and I have only just started it so I don’t have a solid opinion of it yet but I will have a review of it very soon! My next read I think will either be The Blazing Star or A Court of Mist and Fury (re read)

3. What book did everyone like, but you hated?

First that comes to mind is We Were Liars by E.Lockhart. Everyone seems to love this book and I just couldn’t stand it. The writing style made the MC seems dumb and I just couldn’t get past it.

4. What book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

Probably my classics. I own yet haven’t read Jane Eyre, Emma, and Sense and Sensibility. It’s just not my go to genre right now. But I’ll keep them and maybe one day I’ll love them.

5. What book are you saving for retirement?

I don’t do that… I’ll read whatever I’m into reading when and if I grow old. There is no saving books.

6. Last page: read it first, or wait ’til the end?

I’m awful and I frequently end up reading the last page or five before I finish the book. I’ll ruin mysteries for myself to make sure I’m correct about the bad guy. I’ll check and see if a character is really dead. I mean I’m a bookish offender. My best friend gets onto me for it all the time.

7. Acknowledgement: waste of paper and ink, or interesting aside?

Um, I sometimes skip the acknowledgements but I do read them just as often. It’s important for the author to call out and support those that supported them.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?

Luna Lovegood. Magic. Hogwarts. And a semi safe environment.Just saying. Then I could apparate. No more driving! 🙂

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life? (Place, time, person?)

Many of them. Vampire Academy reminds me of college. I have this image of me dragging my friend to Walmart to get the next installment. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants reminds me of my best friends from 6th-8th grade.

10. Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way.

Nope. I mean I mentioned earlier that I stole my mom’s Robin McKinley novel. But that’s not really interesting. I’m boring.

11. Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

This christmas I gave my husband my wishlist and account info for book depository. I knew the books wouldn’t get here till Jan sometime. He went to Barnes and Nobles and bought them all full price so they’d be there the day before christmas. And it was just sweet. Also my grandparents got me a study bible for my college graduation present and that means a lot to me.

12. Which book has been with you most places?

I didn’t start keeping all my books until a year or two ago. Up until then I would sell everything back to McKay’s. So none of my books have been anywhere except from GA to TX. When I go on vacation I bring my iPad.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I wouldn’t know because I never gave them another chance. A few I loved were To Kill A Mockingbird and Withering Heights. Two I HATED were Candid and Lord of the Flies.

14. Used or brand new?

Both! I visit Half Priced Books pretty regularly. And before I was married I bought all my books secondhand. I don’t care about a little wear and tear. I just want to have the book.

15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

No actually. And I’m not really that interested in reading one.

16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked more than the book?

Yeah. More often with TV shows. But it happens with movies. Twilight. I loved those movies. You can judge me. Fault in Our Stars. More judging. But to be fair that was my first date with my now husband.

17. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks included?

Harry Potter used to all the time. All those feasts man!

18. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?

Honestly there is no one I trust 100%. Mostly because I’m a mood reader and it’s hard for me to just trust someone that I’ll love a book. Even if my best friend, mother, husband, ect say I will love it. It’s all driven by my mood.

19. Is there a book out of your comfort zone (e.g., outside your usual reading genre) that you ended up loving?

Illuminae.  I was very surprised that I enjoyed this. I’m not really into science fiction. But the formatting of this story had me on the edge of my seat the entire time.

I hope you guys enjoyed this tag! Let me know down in the comments what book you have read that reminds you of another time in your life.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

4 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag

Leave a Reply

