My Favorite Movie Scores

Hello nerdlings! It’s a wonderful Wednesday and I thought today I would stray from the topic of books and go book adjacent to music. Some people listen to music while they read and others cannot stand it. Personally, I listen to movie scores but anything with words has me singing instead of reading. In case you didn’t know the movie score is the orchestra/piano/ background music that you here while the scenes are playing. It has no words and is usually all written by the same person throughout the movie. I really love how a movie score can just pick you up and put you in this wonderful mood. Sometimes its scary and intense. Other times you feel alive and free. Music has such a powerful hold on me and my life. So today I’m going to go through my top  movie scores. The only condition is that I must own it and have actually listened to it a few times.

Star Trek by Micheal Giacchino.

Star Trek (2008) Directed by: J.J. Abrams

This soundtrack makes me pumped and read to fly in deep space nine. The highs and the lows take you for a ride you won’t forget. If you’re a trekkie or just happened to really enjoy this movie then I recommend trying this out.

Song of The Sea by Bruno Coulais and Kila

songoftheSea

This is a precious animated film about an irish/celtic fairytale. The music is perfect for it and makes you feel like you are traipsing through a fantasy world.

Hook by John Williams

MV5BMTM2OTc0ZDctMGJlNC00MzRhLThhYjQtMGRkNDcxODhiNDY2XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjk3NTUyOTc@._V1_

This was my first venture into famous composer John Williams. I adored this movie as a child. And the orchestra pieces in this remind me of peter pan and hook immediately. Williams has a gift for making strong pieces that help define the movie.

The Secret Garden by Zbigniew Preisner

M8DSEGA EC001

I love how Presiner perfectly captured the tone of the movie. Young Mary has just moved from India and you can feel it in the music. I always feel like this soundtrack makes me dream of far off places.

A Little Princess by Patrick Doyle

tumblr_mzr7c7EUyh1s6cjspo8_250

Also doused with Indian undertones, this soundtrack tends to make me cry. Mostly because the movie makes me cry. My favorite song on it does have words but it’s short and sweet. “Kindle My Heart”.

Guardians of the Galaxy by Tyler Bates

guardians-of-the-galaxy-239146

I love superhero movies. And their scores can really get you pumped up and ready to face the day. This one in particular is special because this was the first superhero movie I watched with my husband. It’s our special thing.

The Mortal Instruments by Atli Örvarsson

mortal-instruments-cast

This may have been a terrible movie compared to the book but I personally really enjoyed the music. I thought it was clean yet atmospheric. I’ve listened to this while reading Cassandra Clare’s works.

Twilight 1-5 by Carter Burwell (1,4,5) Alexandre Desplat (2) and Howard Shore (3)

Twilight_Meadow

We all would like to pretend that Twilight wasn’t part of our past. But I personally liked the movies. And this music is iconic. Bella’s Lullaby was my ringtone in college for a while. I could sit back and listen to these soundtracks all in a row and be perfectly content. They are smooth and like a gentle breeze to your ear.

Beauty and the Beast by Alan Menken

Beauty-Beast-Live-Action-Movie-Details

This soundtrack is what brought this whole post on actually. See I saw the movie and immediately got the deluxe soundtrack. Which I then started listening to while I reread ACOTAR. Because you know… it’s beauty and the beast. Menkan has written the music for almost all of my favorite modern Disney movies. In my eyes he is perfection. The score to this particular movie was so well done and simply beautiful. You won’t regret listening to this.

Star Wars by John Williams

star-wars-rebels2-1200x675

Williams has done the music for MOST of the Star Wars movie franchise. His music is iconic and easily recognizable. It really puts you in the star wars mood. I love listening to this while I clean house. I mean the Imperial March? YESS

Pirates of the Caribbean by Klaus Badelt (1) and Hans Zimmer (2-5)

pirates-caribbean

These soundtracks are also very iconic. When I hear the pirates theme playing during the trailer I start humming along with it. Great soundtrack for adventurers and secret pirates alike.

Studio Ghibli by various artists

dfh

I have a collection of the best music from Studio Ghibli and it is my go to soundtrack for working, studying, or just chilling in the bathtub. It brings my heart such joy to get wrapped up in each note and embrace the melodies. Heck some of my favorites are for movies I still haven’t seen.

Harry Potter by John Williams (1-3), Alexandre Desplate (7&8), Patrick Doyle (4) Nicholas Hooper (5&6)

f69779a00d0377e1bb97c7100ee3cd6a

If you don’t know this music then I think our friendship is on the line. KIDDING. But seriously I would listen to this while I painted or did crafts in college. And I got to the point where without looking I could tell you what scene the song was from.

Fantastic Beasts by James Newton Howard

fantastic-beasts-movie-posters-clips-1200x600

He used the main tone from the Harry Potter score yet took it in another direction for this series. I love this soundtrack listen to it pretty regularly.

The Hobbit by Howard Shore

1355507746047.cached

This music is pretty spectacular. I really feel like I’m living in a fantasy world and on a great adventure when I play this soundtrack. I listen to it while reading frequently. However I do sometimes end up humming along. It can’t be helped.

Lord of the Rings 1-3 by Howard Shore

p19c7ebf8va58mc51mdqteg14453

These are my all time favorite soundtracks. They are my go to for any mood. I love the songs that are sung by the cast. I love the Hobbit theme. This music just entangles me in it and makes me so happy.

Well I hope you found an interesting soundtrack to try out. If you love any of these or there is one you love that I didn’t mention then please comment down below and chat with me. I hope you’re having a lovely day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Movie Scores

  1. Maddie A. says:

    Beauty and the Beast has an amazing soundtrack!! It’s been playing in my head on repeat since I saw the movie and I decided I need to go watch it again 😀
    The soundtrack of Pirates of the Caribbean is also really good!
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jolien @ The Fictional Reader says:

    Love this post! I can’t tell you how happy I am to see Song of the Sea on it, because I adored that movie and soundtrack! Why is no one talking about it? My favorite soundtracks would definitely include Harry Potter, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings too because I’ve listened to them a million times. And of course, the Pirates of the Caribbean one 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

