Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30201136

Goodreads

Synopsis

Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Reactions

Thoughts

This review might not come out into complete sentences because I’m having trouble calming down from how frakking fantastic this book was. I just finished it last night. And the only reason I didn’t read it in one sitting is because my body doesn’t do sitting still for very long. But I was giddy with happiness from beginning to end.  Gah, like I loved these characters. I loved all the geekiness and even the acknowledgements had me holding my chest and grinning.

Let’s start off with the obvious. It’s a Cinderella retelling. And while normally I’d be all, “There are too many of these” I will say this one felt different. It didn’t like the tropes/outline of Cinderella drive what was going to happen. It was like she put the story together and then realized it was Cinderella. The writing just flowed together. And even when I was able to predict some of the plot (because it IS still a retelling) I didn’t care and just loved seeing how this particular story weaved together.

The best part of this story though was all the fandom shoutouts. The whole plot revolves about this tv show Starfield which is similar to Star Trek, Firefly, and Battle Star Gallactica. But then there were all these name drops. They talk about Gilmore Girls, Harry Potter, Dr.Who, Sherlock, and Batman. And that was only in the first 20%. As Poston describes the Con (Which I’m pretty sure is a shoutout to Dragon Con in Atlanta) you feel like you are there. These fans come together to support their own. Showing that online friends are REAL friends and that we know how to come together. I was so excited during the whole conference and cosplay contest. While I’ve never done one myself I have wanted to and would’ve killed to attend Dragon Con. There are so many fandoms out there and places to share who you are with others who get you. Geekerella really hits on that feeling of belonging that fans tend to find amongst each other. I just couldn’t get enough of it. Geekerella will be on my top books for the year. I can already tell.

Overall

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

If you are a geek of any kind then please read this book and fall in love. I’ll be purchasing it on release day. So suffice to say, I LOVED it.

Have you read this book? What did you think? I hope you guys are having a lovely day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

6 thoughts on “Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Leave a Reply

