Top Ten Books I Read In A Day-ish

Good morning lovely friends. Today is Tuesday and you know what that means! Top Ten Tuesday! (hosted by The Broke And Bookish.) Today’s topic is books we read in one sitting. Here’s the thing though, I don’t do that. I have a focusing issue. Also a sitting still issue. It just doesn’t happen for hours at a time. Nope. The only stuff I read in one day is graphic novels or manga. And since I’ve already done a post about my favorite graphics I changed mine to books I finished in a day-ish. Maybe an hour or two into the next day. But still quick reads. Hope you hear about some new books.

Top Ten Books I Read In A Day-ish

10. Get Even duology by Gretchen McNeil. This is similar in style to pretty little liars. It’s just a quick high school thriller surround four girls who come together to serve revenge for thier bullied classmates. I read the second half of book one and all of book two in a Saturday.

9. Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke. This is a modern day telling of Cinderella where Cinderella is the ugly step-sister.

8. The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer. This is a fairy tale retelling similar to the TV show Once Upon A Time. This is definitely the biggest book mentioned today. But since I’m a fairy tale fanatic, especially when you mix tales together, I devoured this book.

7. The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen. This is the first book in a middle grades series about a boy who is being trained to impersonate a lost/dead prince. It’s so good. Yes there are tropes in it. But the style of writing is fun. And the characters are real.

6. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton. I picked this up in 8th grade because I forgot to bring a book to read after CRT testing. (Mandatory testing in GA.) So I found this in my homeroom teacher’s library. I’d already read half of it in two hours. Came back the next day and read the rest. Then a week later I read it again. So yeah, it’s a quick read that I enjoyed a lot.

5. Aurora Teagarden mysteries by Charlaine Harris. This is a cozy mystery series by the lady who wrote the Sookie Stackhouse novels. I loved both series and would breeze through them in college.

4. Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. One of the books that made me who I am. It’s short but full of raw emotional and teenage coming of age.

3. This Song Will Save Your Life by Lelia Sales. Another quick read about girl who wants to kill herself. But she finds music and it literally saves her life.

2. Anything by Ellen Hopkins. Her fiction is all written in poetry format. But it reads like regular YA fiction. Every story is powerful and well written. My favorites are the Impulse duology and the Burned duology.

  1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. This is a quick contemporary romance. I really enjoyed it. It’s about a girl who writes letters to the boys that she cares about, complete with envelopes and addresses. Then her mom accidentally sends them.

 

Well I hope you liked this Top Ten Tuesday and maybe found a new book to try. Let me down in the comments if you can read a book in one sitting and if so, what is your favorite one sitting read. Have a blessed day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read In A Day-ish

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      Omg and you love perks. I think this is why we get along so well. I was obsessed with Perks in 8th grade. It was one of the first books about depression for teens where the depression was accompanied by teen pregnancy, cutting, drugs, or being gay. Nope just a kid with severe depression.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lori says:

    The Outsiders is the book that made me love reading! I read it in middle school with the whole class. I kept getting scolded for reading ahead of everyone else. 🙂 Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

