What Cats Do Book Tag

If you know me at all you know that I’m a crazy cat lady. Saw this tag over at Thrice Books and just couldn’t stop myself from doing it myself. Sorry ahead of time for assaulting you with cat photos. Except I’m not sorry.

PURR- AS CATS DO THIS WHEN THEY’RE HAPPY OR RELAXED, WHAT IS THE BOOK THAT MAKES YOU HAPPIEST OR RELAXED?

I’m relaxed and happy when I pick up a book I’ve been seriously jonesing for. I have to have read and loved the author’s previous work. Example, I loved Shadow and Bone so when I got the second one in my hands I was so happy!

2016-10 003

SLEEP- WHAT IS A BOOK THAT PUT YOU TO SLEEP OR WAS JUST BORING?

Wow, had to go back 2 years to find one on goodreads. This is because if I’m bored early on, I just put it down. And those I don’t mark on goodreads because you never know if its me or the book. But the last one was January 2015. House of Ivy and Sorrow by Natalie Whipple. Nothing happened! I kept waiting for some action. The book had such a good premise. But I was bored to tears.

IMG_2835

TWITCH WHILE DREAMING- HAVE YOU EVER DREAMT OF A BOOK YOU READ?

Yes. All my life I’ve had very vivid dreams. I’m more likely to dream about a tv show just because there are actors playing the part for me to actually see. Where as books are all about my imagination. But it has happened. I used to dream about Harry Potter a lot. Oh and Vampire Academy.

IMG_4673

SEEMS TO PLAY NICE…UNTIL THE CLAWS ARE OUT- WHICH BOOK HAD THE BIGGEST PLOT TWIST(S)?

I’m bad at this because I almost always guess the ending. It’s a skill I learned by my mother’s side watching mystery tv shows frequently. So instead I’ll give you one of my favorite twists. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver uses one of my favorite twists. I should probably re-evaluate that in light of mental health issues. But I still enjoy it.

IMG_3287

 CUDDLES- WHICH BOOK CHARACTER WOULD YOU GIVE A HUG TO?

They’re all my babies! Ok, if I had to pick just a few… Safi and Isuelt from Truthwitch, Ripley from The Lumberjanes, and Nina from Six of Crows. Also realizing now that I love a lot of characters who probably aren’t huggers. Sad day for them.

IMG_3517

CATNIP- WHAT’S A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAVE WARM AND FUZZY FEELS?

Most recently Lola and the Boy Next Door and 10 Things I Can See From Here. There were just some heartfelt precious moments in both of these books.

2016-10 005

CAT BREEDS- WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE BOOKS?

Grisha Trilogy, Snow Like Ashes, Vampire Academy, To Kill A Mocking Bird, Harry Potter, The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Ruined, The Lumberjanes, Speak, Perks of Being A Wallflower.

IMG_2643

GETTING THE CAT- HOW DID YOU FIND YOUR FAVORITE BOOK(S).

Friends. Booktube. One was a school assignment. Saw them in the bookstore and thought, “Hey, why not?” I still remember who I first saw reading Harry Potter and suggested I try it. Michael Thomas you will go down in my history as a hero. 😛 But seriously I’m all about going to the store and just reading the backs and seeing what’s good.

IMG_4607

THE VET’S OFFICE- YOUR LEAST FAVORITE BOOK.

Most recently Blood Rose Rebellion. But when you say least favorite that usually means to me that I HATED it. And if I HATE something I don’t usually keep reading it unless I have to. Ohh. How about Lord of the Flies. The ending pisses me off. Read that in 10th grade. Or Candid by Voltaire. Um NO THANK YOU! 

2016-10 121

BEING IN PLACES THEY SHOULDN’T- LEAST FAVORITE CLICHÉ.

I hate when love is used as a cure-all. Like MC’s life is going crappy and then she meets this boy and BAM! Things are magical! That just isn’t how life works my friends.

FINAL QUESTION: THE GOOD OLD CARDBOARD BOX- MOST UNDERRATED BOOK/SERIES.

Anything by Laura Wiess. No one talks about her work. But it’s very impactful.

2016-10 069

I hope you enjoyed this tag. Let me know down in the comments what one of your favorite underrated books/series is. Have a lovely day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background


 

7 thoughts on “What Cats Do Book Tag

  1. Holly says:

    Okay, this tag is amazing ❤ SO MANY CATS.
    Also, I used to dream about Harry Potter so much when I was younger, too! It was right around when I was reading the books and starting to watch the movies that were out at the time. So strange, but awesome 🙂

    Like

      1. meltingpotsandothercalamities says:

        I am so sorry for not responding sooner, but yeah…that trope…I like it too, but only when done correctly. And while I didn’t like it in Vanishing Girls on the first try, on my reread, I thought it was brilliantly written. And thanks! I’m just happy to see people still using my tag, honestly. And there’s no problem with being a crazy cat lady! Those cat photos were ADORABLE! And clearly I’m one too…

        Like

Leave a Reply

