Glorious Graphics #2

Good Morning my reader friends. I hope you’re doing fabulous. Today I’m going to be reviewing some graphic novels and manga that I’ve read in the past month ish. I’m pretty into graphic novels. They are good for reading slumps and just energizing my reading mood. I highly encourage you check one of these out in the future.

Manga

Fruitsbasket Collector’s Edition Vol 1

28219400

This is a shõjo manga about an orphan named Tohru. She is found camping on the Somha family land and is offered a place to live in exchange for doing the cooking and cleaning for the two boys who live in the house. Yuki, Kyo, and Shigure soon become good friends with Tohru and she learns their family secret. Twelve of the members of the Sohma family are possessed by the twelve animals of the Chinese zodiac. We follow Tohru in her day to day life as she makes friends and learns about the Somha family. Sounds boring but it was actually quite endearing and fun to read. I loved the scenes with Yuki and Kyo fighting. And Momiji is my favorite character. I have high hopes for this manga.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

Case Closed Volumes 1-5

This is an ongoing detective series known as Detective Conan in Japan. There are over 60 volumes in the original series. It follows Jimmy Kudo, famous and elite high school detective. After a scuffle with some Japaneese mob members known as the Syndicate he is given a poison meant to kill him. Instead the poison makes him small, as in physically the age of a first grader. He still has his smarts about him though so he hides out at his friend Rachel’s house helping her dad, who is a really bad private eye, solve crime. I won’t lie, this is a very cheesy detective series. There is a lot of telling instead of showing. And the mysteries are rarely complex and thriller esq. It  was like watching a Scooby Doo episode. Where you know who the bad guy is, and you know nothing too bad is going to happen. But dang it if you don’t keep watching it anyway because it makes you smile and it’s just plain fun. If you just want a fun detective series. Nothing too serious. Then I suggest trying out this manga.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

Graphic Novels/ Comics

The Lumberjanes and Gotham Academy

303708443183773331402280

311219863259672732941079I

In this lovely crossover the Gotham Academy kids are on the road trying to find their lost professor when they stumble upon the Lumberjanes in the woods. It seems that the professor and Lumberjanes camp director Rosie have both been kidnapped. While it took a bit to for the plot to get rolling along, I didn’t mind because I adore both of these sets of characters. And seeing them interact together just warmed my heart and made me beg each new issue. If you’ve liked either Gotham Academy or Lumberjanes before then I highly recommend this crossover.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

Giant Days Vol 3

29989615

This continues the journey of college students Susan, Esther, and Daisy. This particular volume wasn’t my favorite because of the whole running for student government plot line. But as always, I do love these characters and cherish watching how they deal with college life. We need more coming of age stories about college in my opinion. I can relate to the emotions these girls were growing through. I can’t wait to get the next volume and see what happens next.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

Batgirl and the Birds of Prey vol 1

30325381

I was given a copy of this graphic novel, in exchange for an honest review, from netgalley.

This is the rebirth of the birds of prey. It follows Batgirl, Huntress, Black Canary, and someone masquerading as Oracle. The Birds of Prey are hunting down this fake oracle because they are selling information to mob bosses. I did like this story. I enjoyed all the banter between the BoP. The story was kind of jumpy though. If you’re used to superhero comics then it won’t bother you. There is plenty of background information to tell you where these character’s are coming from. And the art wasn’t too hard on your eyes. I wouldn’t recommend it as your first superhero comic. But if you’re well versed in the DC universe then I think you’ll really enjoy this volume.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

Batgirl, Volume 1: Beyond Burnside

31219059

I received this graphic novel from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This graphic novel collection isn’t my favorite. It took me a few pages to figure out where in the timeline DC was starting over with Barbara Gordon. Babs is a pretty well known character and I’ve always loved how smart she is and quick non the uptake. But there wasn’t as much background info laid down in this rebirth story as with some of the other DC heroes. Also the storyline just felt weak. Kids trying to steal a super formula so they could take a college entrance exam? It felt too simple and lacked omph. I will be continuing on with the series though, if only because I love Batgirl!

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

3 thoughts on “Glorious Graphics #2

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I’ve wanted to read Fruit Baskets for a while!! The only manga I’ve read so far is Death Note which I looooved so I definitely want to read more at some point. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

