February Wrap – Up

February has been a fun month for me. I started out kind of blah, thinking that I might not get much reading done this month. But instead I changed up my activities and not only did I lower stress but suddenly I was reading like crazy.

giphy

What I Read This Month

  1. City of Heavenly Fire by Casandra Clare – This is the 6th and final installment to The Mortal Instruments series. I still haven’t read infernal devices so there was bits and pieces I didn’t understand. But it didn’t take away from the story. Clary and crew’s journey to fight sebastian get’s crazier and more intense than ever in this final installment. This was part of my #RockMyTBR challenge
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
  2. Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine – I buddy read this with Becca at Faerily Bookish. Though I’ll admit that I was a bad book buddy and we didn’t chat as often as I’d have liked. This book is a retelling of Snow White and the Huntsman but with magic and dragons. As awesome as this sounds it ended up not being the book for me. I have it a star rating because I recognize it’s merits but ultimately I ended up skimming the last 1/3 of the book. This was part of my #RockMyTBR challenge
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
  3. 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac – If I convince you to read one book from this list please let it be this one. It’s a YA contemporary about a lesbian with major anxiety.  It had excellent representation and I cannot stop gushing about it. CI cried, I laughed, I swooned. This book is amazing. It was released Feb 28th.
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
  4. The Inconceivable Life of Quinn by Marianna Baer – This is a magical realism book that comes out April 4th., review coming soon! It’s about a politician’s daughter who finds out she is pregnant. Only problem is she swears up and down. I thought this was going to be a case of an unreliable narrator. The magical realism part wasn’t spelled out in the blurb so I didn’t actually love this one. But I can see how others would really enjoy it.
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
  5. Giant Days Vol 3 by John Allison, Whitney Cogar, and Lissa Trieman- I cannot get enough of these three girls. I’m past my years in college but it’s so enjoyable to see that time in an older teen’s life represented. In this volume there are breakups, new romance, and politics. I love the art and the story is just one of my favorites.
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
  6. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – This is an adult fantasy book about a magician who can go between parallel Londons. I really enjoyed it and will be continuing on with the series. Full Review Here. This was part of my #TackleYourOwnLibrary challenge
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar
  7. Get Even duology by Gretchen McNeil – Four girls form a social justice group at their high school to seek revenge against bullies. Then one of their targets shows up dead with their calling card in his hand. Now the girls are on the hunt for the killer. I loved these books. Admittedly I had an addiction to Pretty Little Liars so it kind of makes sense that I would fall into love with this duology. Though it wasn’t originally on my list, I’m going to be using this for #TackleYourOwnTBR.
    My full review here
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar
  8. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – I buddy read this with my bestie Tina. We’d read Anna and the French Kiss last fall and wanted to continue the series. It’s about Lola, who is trying to figure out if what she always believed is true about the boy next door. She thinks her boyfriend Max is the one but could she be wrong? Overall I enjoyed this book. I have some personal issues with 17 year olds thinking they have found “The One”. Even taking out the fact that I don’t believe “The One” (You can ask me in the comments if you find this weird.) But I adored Cricket. He is my new fictional love.(Move over hubby :P) And I enjoyed seeing Lola and Cricket come together when she was “full and ready.” I’m going to be using this on my #TackleYourOwnLibrary Challenge as my contemporary.
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar
  9. Lumberjanes/ Gotham Academy # 4 and #5 by Cythna Clugston Flores – These installements of this spin off series to the Graphic Novels The Lumberjanes and Gotham Academy are delightful as always. This cross over is one of my favorites. The whole gang has been kidnapped by Louise who is stuck in the 80’s trying to relive her 16th birthday party.In issue 4 the crew makes a plan for ending Louise’s fantasy. And in 5 it all goes to hell. If you like either of these graphic series I hope you’ll pick up these trades. Or read them on Hoopla like I did. Hopefully they’ll be bound together in a volume soon.
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
  10. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – This is a coming of age story about Cath. She is headed off to college with her twin sister Wren. Cath struggles with college life and especially her writing class. See, she’d rather write Simon and Baz fanfiction than create her own world. The story is the internal musings of an extreme introvert and how she handles life. So most people have read this already. I don’t wanna say too much about this because I have a review coming. But know that I did enjoy it.  I love seeing my fellow bookworms portrayed and taking back the word geek.
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

 

  • Case Closed Vol 1-5 by Gosho Auoyama  – This is a cute detective mystery series I picked up a few years back. It’s about detective Jimmy Kudo who is given a poison that turns him small. Now he must catch the bad guys while pretending to be Conon Edogawa and proving his worth despite his physical appearance as a child. This manga reads like a Scooby Doo episode. It’s very formulaic but still enjoyable despite it’s cliche script. I enjoyed the characters and will be continuing on with the series. This met the challenge of a reccomended book for #TackleYourOwnLibrary
    green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

 

Challenges

–> 4 of these books were on my original lists for Rock your TBR and Tackle Your Own Library Challenge: City of Heavenly Fire, Shadow Queen, Case Closed series and A Darker Shade of Magic.
–> However 4 more of these books could count towards my challenge because I own them and they’ve been on my TBR quite a while.
–> As for the list of books I’ve had 2+ Years. I decided to give away 4 of them. And I read 2 of them. WOOHOO!! Progress

giphy

I hope you guys are having a wonderful day! How many books did you read this month? I hope it was a great month. Talk to you in the comments.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

8 thoughts on “February Wrap – Up

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Ahhh I’m glad you liked ADSOM!! That’s one of my all-time favourite books. ❤ I actually reread it in February which was soo so good omg but I didn't get around to reading AGOS before the final book came out. But I'm going to reread them all again as soon as I can. Because #obsessed.😂 Sadness about Shadow Queen! It's been on my tbr for FOREVER but I keep hearing it's kind of meh. 🙈🙊

    Like

  2. Madalyn @ Novel Ink says:

    It looks like you had a great reading month! I have an e-ARC of The Inconceivable Life of Quinn for review– I had no idea it was magical realism, but that’s one of my favorite genres, which makes me super excited to read it! Love CoHF (you totally need to read The Infernal Devices, though), Fangirl, and Lola. And UGH I’m just so glad you enjoyed ADSOM! I love that series so much. Happy reading this month, Sydney!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

