10 Things I Can See From Here

31019571

Happy Birthday to 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac!!

Published By: Knopf Books For Young Readers

Released: Febuary 28th

Genre: YA LGBTQIA, Mental Health, Contemporary

I was given a copy of this book from the publishers through netgalley in exchange for an honest review.But my opinions are my own. You guys I’m writing this right after reading it because I am just that dang excited about this book. You need to read it!! ahhh!! Here we go.

Synopsis

10 Things I Can See From Here

This a story about Maeve. She has to live with her dad for a while because her mom is going to Haiti to work with her doctor boyfriend. This wouldn’t be an issue, except Maeve has debilitating anxiety. She memorizes statistics for common ways people die. She knows how many house fires happen on average in year. She knows how many people die without a seat belt on. And she badgers her family members with her statistics. Now she is moving to Vancouver with her Dad, Step mom and twin brothers. She meets a cute girl at the bus stop but doesn’t know how to calm her racing thoughts long enough to socially interact with her.  Can Maeve learn to be anxious and still live?

Reactions 

 

Thoughts

Guys, I adored this book. I finished it this morning and I cannot stop smiling about it. I want EVERYONE to read it so that we can discuss it and just swoon together. It made me feel all the feelings. I was scared with Maeve, sad, excited, nervous. This book took over my life and I couldn’t put it down. I recognize that Maeve’s story isn’t for everyone. But with so many books about mental illness and LGBTQIA community coming out. It was so refreshing to read a story that handled these subjects with care and research.

Ok let’s talk about some obvious things. Representation was on point in this book. Mental illness wise it was such a beautiful story. Though there is romance, Maeve’s relationship with Salix didn’t “save” her. Saliz wasn’t her knight in shining armor. Oh Em Gee, praise the lord. Mental Health was approached in a healthy and respectful way. Maeve’s brain tends to focus on statistics. She writes people’s obituary in her head whenever she/they are about to do something that her statistics deem dangerous. Which is everything. Her arguments aren’t always easy for her family to deal with but they didn’t treat Maeve like she was a child or a drama queen who over reacts. They realized that she had a medical condition and couldn’t help it.  To some readers Maeve’s ramblings are probably annoying. But if you’ve ever lived with high anxiety you know that this is real life. This is a real depiction of mental illness. It doesn’t go away half way through the book. It’s here for life. And I loved that Maeve didn’t learn how to get rid of her anxiety. But it was about having the anxiety, facing it anyway, and taking it one day at a time.

I personally think the LGBTQIA  aspect was also handled well. I talked to a few different people about what good representation looked like and tropes/ stereotypes I should look for. Carrie Mac handled the fact that Maeve was a lesbian brilliantly. I loved that it a) wasn’t a coming out story and b) being a lesbian wasn’t her defining trait. I hate when I read a good book but the author throws in a gay character with no real personality. They are there to be gay. This book was not that way. Being a lesbian was just another wonderful part of what made Maeve who she was.

While the romance wasn’t on the forefront, it wasn’t on the back burner either. I was reading this one scene where Maeve and Salix kiss, and I just lost it. I did the fangirling thing where you stomp your feet in bed. Maybe I only do that. haha. But it was just so sweet yet honest. It was a depiction of real romance and what a healthy relationship should look like. I was so excited to see Maeve overcome her anxiety enough that she could sit and talk with Salix.

Overall

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

Loved this and totally recommend it for everyone.

Trigger Warning

If you have high anxiety then this might not be a good book for you. As I mentioned, the authors has insight into Maeve’s thoughts. So we see all of her worries. And if you’re already worrying, then seeing Maeve’s thoughts might make you more anxious. Just putting this out there.

 

3 thoughts on “10 Things I Can See From Here

Leave a Reply

