A Darker Shade of Magic

A Darker Shade of Magic

22055262

Synopsis

This is the story of Kell. He is one of the last Antari, magicians who can travel between worlds. He lives in London. But not our London. See there are four different London’s in four different worlds. They’re connected by name alone and have little in common. There is Grey London, our London, which is dreary and almost devoid of magic. There is Red London, Kell’s home, which is full of magic and thriving. There is White London, where magic gives you power. It’s a cut throat environment where the people are always trying to gain the most power. Finally there is Black London which was lost years ago due to too much magic. On one of Kell’s trips between worlds he is given a dangerous package. Suddenly Kell is being chased through worlds and must decide what to do with the package. He meets a theif named Lila Bard and they embark on an adventure together.

Reactions

raw

giphy-4

giphy-3

 

Thoughts

This book is so hyped it really doesn’t need my praises to promote it more. But I read it so here are my thoughts. The world building was superb. Everything was described so well that I had this clear picture in my mind of what was going on at all times. The story telling was very nice along with the writing style. This book was easy to read and just an grade A adventure story. I was feeling everything these characters were and putting myself right in the middle of this journey. I thoroughly enjoyed these characters and the way they responded to different adversaries.

If I’m honest though there was one area that I could have liked to have seen more work done. That is the character development. A lot of YA books have this habit of telling the reader everything the character is thinking. Maybe I’m just used to that. But the reader was always a degree or two away from the characters and I just felt like I didn’t get to know them as well as I would’ve liked. I read that Rhy and Kell are brother but why would Kell give his life away for Rhy? Where was the emotion? And Lila is a pirate thief. But what life experiences drove her putting up these walls around herself? It’s one of those books where if you were to ask me in a week or two what were characteristics of the main characters I could only give you one maybe two. I didn’t really know them like friends. More like acquaintances.

So is this book over hyped? Yes and No. Everyone is blinking talking about it. And I did really enjoy it. I plan to read the rest of the series. But will everyone like it? I don’t think so. I don’t think it has the universal pull like some books do. If you are looking for super high fantasy I wouldn’t read this. If you like a good pirate book, this one might not be the one for you. But if you like a compelling story with interesting characters that leave a promise of more then please pick this book up!

Overall 

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

That’s all for today folks. Let me know down in the comments if you’ve read this one already and what your favorite part was. Talk to you later!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

7 thoughts on “A Darker Shade of Magic

  1. lindseyhabets says:

    Glad you enjoyed this one! I agree that the worldbuilding is superb and I totally understand your point about the character development. Though I loved book one, I only really fell in love with the characters in book two, so I hope you’ll love book two even more as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

