Get Even Duology

 

Synopsis

Get Even Duology

The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars in Gretchen McNeil’s witty and suspenseful novel about four disparate girls who join forces to take revenge on high school bullies and create dangerous enemies for themselves in the process.

This the story of four girls who are all about justice for their harassed and persecutedΒ classmates. To their peers it seems like Bree, Olivia, Kitty, and MargotΒ have nothing in common. But secretly they pull off pranks against the school worst bullies. Everything was going just the way they planned until their next target shows up dead with their signature calling card in his hand. The thing is, they didn’t do it. Now there is a killer on the loose and it seems like he is after the girls.

Reactions

 

Thoughts

These were two books I’d had on my shelves for 2+ years. I picked them up last weekend and devoured them. There are some mixed reviews on good reads. So let me tell you why these books worked for me.

  • The comparison to Pretty Little Liars is legit in two ways. First, the writing reads like a Sarah Shepherd novel style wise. The writing wasn’t swoony just kind of to the point and easy to read. I found myself reading 100’s of pages in an hour. It’s a third person omniscient narrative that follows each of the four girls. Some people struggled with the POV because they aren’t super personal like a first person would be, yet there are four girls to juggle. I’m used to this narrative type so it was like watching TV.
  • Speaking of TV, the second way this book compares to PLL is that reading this FELT like when I used to sit down on Tuesdays and watch the show. My adrenaline was pumping as I turned page after page. I’m surprised my anxiety didn’t get into gear. I was desperate to find out who the killer was. And I’ll tell you, I didn’t guess right till the second book. That’s a big deal. I almost always know. But the first book was so well plotted that I had no idea.
  • One of the things that kept me reading was that I could tell that the story was written with the bullying plotline at it’s center. These two books were about getting revenge on bullies. How most people have caused other people pain before in their lives and does that reconcile with these same people now seeking justice for those who can’t do it themselves. It wasn’t just a trope thrown in there after the mystery had been written. No, this concept was the heart of the story and left a big impression on me.

 

Overall

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

I would recommend this if you’re looking for an easy read, enjoy reading stories about bullying and especially if you love Pretty Little Liars.

Let me know in the comments if you like Pretty Little Liars, the tv show or the books. I hope you guys have a wonderful day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

3 thoughts on “Get Even Duology

  1. Greg Hill says:

    I agree about these, I liked the first book more but this was a fun duology. Loved Bree and her boyfriend who kept spouting Star Wars (forget his name). And I agree about the bullying. It was a focus of the story, not an afterthought. I’d love to see this as a Netflix show.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

