Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was started by The Broke and Bookish. Today’s topic was Top Ten books I wish had more/less X in them. I’m going to do the Top Five books  I wish had more friendship in them.

1. Tonight the Streets are Ours by Leila Sales

23310761

My biggest beef with this book was that the inside jacket summary says that the plot is about Arden meeting the owner of this blog she loves. Well that didn’t happen till 3/4 of the way through the book. I really felt like the story lied with Arden’s friendship with Lindsey. I wish more time had been spent focusing on it and Sales had just deleted the rest.

2. Finding Audrey

23305614

While friendship wasn’t the main story in Finding Audrey I thought the romance was totally unnecessary. I would have preferred for the male love interest to just be befriending Audrey and for her other friendships to be explained/ more defined.

3. The Problem with Forever

 26721568

I didn’t really understand the friendship between the main character’s. It was supposed to be a friendship that blossomed into love but it made no sense and felt quick. I would have rather had their friendship well defined.

4.  All We Have is Now

22840148

I just could’ve done with out the romance in this. I wish the two main character’s have stuck to being best friends.

5. My Heart and Other Black Holes

18336965

I really dislike mental health stories where the romance “saves” one of the character’s. NO!

Let me know down below if you have read any books that you wish focused more on friendship. Have a great week!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. lindseyhabets says:

    YES to friendships! I love it when books focus on friendship and it always kind of annoys me if there is absolutely no friendship in it. I only read Finding Audrey from your list but I completely agree, could have used friendship instead of romance!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana Prince Reviews says:

    Oof, I completely agree about hating the “savior” trope in mental health stories. It’s ableist AND overdone and more often than not completely ruins the book. Not that friendships are going to “save” a person either, but focusing on friend relationships over romantic relationships is so much more realistic and honest, and I prefer it any day of the week.
    My TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

