Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Hello Hello! Thank you for stopping by today. I will be reviewing Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

28114396

Ever the Hunted

Non Spoilery Synopsis

Britta’s father died 2 months ago. After observing the obligitory mourning period, she is have starved and with no one around to help her or show her kindness Britta is forced to hunt on the King’s lands. When she caught poaching, the King regent offers her a deal : Her father’s land and personal freedom if she catches her father’s murderer. The catch is that the suspect is none other than her childhood friend and the keeper of her heart, Cohen.

Reactions

My Thoughts

. I received this book in December from my Uppercase subscription. I was looking forward to it so much. Fantasy, Murder, Magic, all wrapped up in one place. For the most part this held true.  I ended up buddy reading this one with my texas bestie Carroll and we had some opinions. So I’m going to give you 3 things I liked and 2 that I did not.

Things I did not like
  • The pacing was awkward in places. The whole poaching, getting caught, starting out to see Cohen happens in the first short 4 chapters. All I could think was “She can’t spend the rest of this book looking for Cohen??” She didn’t. But the pacing was just off.  I’d almost rather have seen the book start in a different place. Things would go really quickly then suddenly they’d really slow down. It wasn’t hard to read. It was just awkward.
  • The ending wasn’t very satisfying because it happened too fast and was wrapped up so nicely. Not that I desire bad things to happen to my character’s. But as Carroll pointed out, it was just too wrapped up in a bow for the first book in a trilogy. While I could see where the story is headed, I wanted a little more realism when it came to the results of this story.
Things I did enjoy
  • Britta and Cohen’s relationship. It was built on a solid foundation before the story begins so there is no insta love. Just learning how to love again. Their moments together were so sweet and precious, yet filled with that teenage awkwardness. I totally giggled a few times reading their scenes together.
  • The world building, while not Leigh Bardugo standard, was pretty good for a debut author. I knew what people wore, how they talked, what the land was like. And there’s a map! Woot! You come to find out that there is a secondary plot consisting of the relationship between Britta’s country Malam, and their neighbor Shaerdan.  So world building is very important to this story. I think Summerill did a very good job.
  • The development of  Captain Omar and his guards Tomas and Leif. While they definitely weren’t all likable characters at every moment. Heck,I was disgusted by Tomas. I liked seeing how they developed at characters and the journey that they took throughout this story. They had internal goals that had nothing to do with catching the murderer. They were their own person,  3 – Dimensional. Always makes for good characters.

Overall

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

I would reccomend this to you if you like fantasy worlds, if you like your fantasy mixed with mystery, or if you just like the cover. It’s an interesting book filled with all the right things.

I hope you guys are having a great day! I’ll talk to you in comments. Let me know if this book interests you or if you’ve read it already!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

8 thoughts on “Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

  1. Molly's Book Nook says:

    haha “Not that I want bad things to happen…” That was funny, but I get what you mean. I haven’t read this book yet. I’ve seen mixed reviews for it so far, but I want to give it a shot (I, too, got it in my Uppercase box). The pacing does sound odd but I’m glad that the characters and world building were good! Lovely review 🙂

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      I should have put this in there… but it felt slightly middle grades in the beginning due to pacing. But overall the story was interesting … If you’re interested in highish fantasy. I say highish because it wasn’t full blown high fantasy with a billion characters. But it had politics, murder, and magic.

      Like

  2. Jasmine says:

    I agree with your review. I don’t feel much for this book either. She stands there to get caught even when the homeless guy warned her that they are coming for her. The annoying part is the insecurity: he loves me, he loves me not. And too much time in the woods running forward & backward hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      The relationship part didn’t totally annoy me because as a teenager I was stupid like that.When you have abandonment issues you think everyone is leaving you . Plus when they did get together it was precious. I just couldn’t get over the pace and the fact that the story had a whole other story happenening for most of the book. Like WHAt?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

