Top 10 Underrated/Hidden Gems

Top 10 Tuesday was created by the girls over at The Broke and Bookish. Today’s topic is hidden gems. I found 10 books that aren’t talked about much that I happen to love! People tend to focus on the “popular” books, especially in YA, so this topic was especially fun.

  1. The Lynburn Legacy trilogy by Sarah Rees Brennan

    10866624

    I loved this series from the moment it came out. Besides my friend that read it with me, I don’t know anyone else who has read it. I need someone to gush with people! The basic plot is that Kami has always been able to talk to friend in her head. She can see what he sees and vice versa. She’s convinced her self that she made him up because who can actually talk to random people in their head. Then one day this guy moves to town with some family and it happens to be the Jared from her head. Turns out they aren’t instant buddies. But the soon join forces to defeat Jared’s family, who are bad witches and warlocks. This series is hilarious, LGBTQIA, gothic, and just plain fun to read.

  2. Find Me by Romily Bernard

    13645069

    Wick is a sarcastic hacker girl who teams up with the hot trailer-park boy Griff in order to stop her friend Tessa’s killer. She has to work fast because his next target is her sister. I haven’t heard anyone talk about these novels. But I’m kind of a YA-Mystery nut so of course I’m up for this book. It was pretty good too. And funny. I like my character’s funny. What can I say?

  3. Remember Me by Christopher Pike

    2455162

    I read this in 8th grade because it was my best friend’s favorite book. It’s about a girl who find’s herself outside her body, only to realize she is dead on the concrete in front of her. Knowing that she didn’t jump the balcony on purpose, she sets out to see who pushed her over. Pike was known for his YA thrillers back in the early 2000’s. Nowadays I’d say it’s more preteen aged. If you like little bit of thrill with a dash of horror in your life, please check this out.

  4. Just Listen by Sarah Dessan

    51738

    I’m gonna show my age for a second. Dessan was the Rainbow Rowell/Kasie West/Morgan Matson of my middle school and early high school life. I realize she is still writing. But when I was in school she was the next big thing. I waited every summer to read her next book. My favorite is Just Listen. It follows Annabelle who has recently been kicked out of her social circle and publicly disowned by the “in-crowd.” She befriends loner and music obsessed Owen who is all about telling the truth. He helps her face what happened the night she is Sophie stopped being friends. This book is heartwarming, beautiful, and will tear you up inside if you have any experience with teenage girls. I was one, so yeah I get it.

  5. Life Unaware by Cole Gibsen

    20613726

    Life Unaware follows teenage Reagan as she deals with bullying, anxiety, and teenage gossip. It’s the perfect coming of age novel and one that I love immensely. Especially due to the mental health awareness.

  6. Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

    162086

    I obviously have a thing for damaged characters. I would promote anything written by this woman but for today have decided to focus on Such A Pretty Girl. Meredith was supposed to have nine years of safety. Nine years where she didn’t have to work about her father sexually abusing her. Then the state decides to let him out early, and her mom lets him back into the house. While some people say that no mother would purposely not protect their child, I say that you don’t know every parent. I’ve met many kids with parents who had the wrong priorities and didn’t put their child first. This novel was enlightening and so heartbreaking to read. Please someone read it so we can talk about it!

  7. If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch

    15793231

    A broken down camper in the middle of the woods is the only home Carey remembers. Then her mentally ill mother disappears and she and her sister are picked up by the police. Come to find out, her mother kidnapped her and Casey and her sister Janessa have a family who have been waiting for their return for years. Casey struggles to adjust to this new life but her father is ever patient and loves her regardless. This is another heartbreaking but heartwarming novel. I have always liked the “return from kidnapping” plot line. I think it was done well in this novel.

  8. 1 – 800 – Where – Are – You series by Jenny Carrol aka Meg Cabot

    637857

    This is another one from my middle school years. Jess can look at a picture of any person and tell you where they are. See Jess was struck by lightening. I’ve always been a fan of characters with mind powers. So I obviously was going to pick this up.I know it’s a little juvenile by today’s YA standards, but I adored this series.

  9. Trylle series and Spinoff by Amanda Hocking

    12180581
    This was Amanda’s first series, which first appeared on Wattpad before she was published by St. Martin’s. It follows Wendy, who finds out on her 16th birthday that she is a troll. And not just any troll, the next inline to be Queen and rule. She was switched at birth with a human child for her own protection and now must return home. I am all about this series. Switched at birth? Yes. Trolls? Please! Princess lessons? I mean I do love the Princess Diaries. So I highly recommend this series and it’s spinoff.

  10. Down with the Shine by Kate Karyus Quinn

    25647300
    I actually never hear anyone talk about this author. All of her books are a little bit horror mixed with a bit of Magical Realism. In Down with the Shine Lennie goes to a party with her uncle’s legendary moonshine. Her uncles have always told her that it grants wishes, but she thinks this is an old wive’s (or uncle’s) tale until her friends’ wishes start coming true. This of course creates a ton of chaos. Another book that I really want someone to read so I can talk about it.

 

Well that is my Top 10 Tuesday. Let me know if you’re interested in any of these books or if you’ve read them already. I hope you’re having a wonderdful day! Talk to you in the comments.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

16 thoughts on “Top 10 Underrated/Hidden Gems

  1. Maddie A. says:

    I read the Trylle series a few years ago and I know I loved it! I can’t remember much now, though haha 🙂 And The Lynburn Legacy has been on my TBR for aaaages and I still haven’t read it yet 😦 I need to read it soon! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

