Losts Girls by Merrie Desefano Review

29939399

Goodreads

Published By: Entangled Publishing

Release Date: January 3rd

Genre: YA Mystery Thriller.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. My opinions are my own

I’m here today to chat about Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano. This fast paced novel was released on Tuesday January 3rd and I highly suggest you run out the door right now and go buy it. There aren’t many YA Mystery/Thrillers out there. I usually have to reach for the adult mystery section when I want a thrilling and scary adventure. But this novel was a delightful YA surprise that I enjoyed from beginning to end.

Synopsis

Yesterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled up in her grammy’s quilt, worrying about geometry. Today, she woke up in a ditch, bloodied, bruised, and missing a year of her life.

She doesn’t recognize the person she’s become: she’s popular. She wears nothing but black.

Black to cover the blood.

And she can fight.

Tell no one.

She’s not the only girl to go missing within the last year…but she’s the only girl to come back. She desperately wants to unravel what happened to her, to try and recover the rest of the Lost Girls.

But the more she discovers, the more her memories return. And as much as her new life scares her, it calls to her. Seductively. The good girl gone bad, sex, drugs, and raves, and something darker…something she still craves—the rush of the fight, the thrill of the win—something she can’t resist, that might still get her killed…

The only rule is: There are no rules.

Reaction

images-1

download
101-dalmatians-101-dalmatians-32065531-1116-826

Thoughts

This compelling mystery had me at the main character missing a year of her life. It’s an over used cliche plot for thrillers in general. But done right, I always enjoy it. I like seeing what lengths the character will go in order to recover said memories, and the mayhem that happens along the way. Lost Girls had the right amount of petrifying fear with the right amount of exciting action occurring per chapter. Like I was actually scared towards the end and my anxiety turned up. I never actually wanted to stop reading. And in fact read the last 75% of the book in one sitting. I didn’t think this story would be different of trick me but it was cool seeing the kidnapper’s identity slowly being unfolded.  Rather than trying to figure out which side character was responsible, as per usual.I watched as memories dribbled in and light was shone in the darkness.  Something else you should know about this book is it pay’s ode to Swan Lake. I really enjoyed the main character and her swan song transformation. It didn’t rely on being a retelling so there was no need to follow Swan Lake to the letter. But in a gentle way it paid appreciation to the ballet. Lost Girls by Merrie Destefano is in a bookstore near you. I hope you’ll consider supporting this author and her good read.

Overall

I rated this novel 4.5/5 stars. I recommend it for all lovers of YA Mystery/ Thrillers and anyone who enjoys a little thrill in the life on occasion.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

I hope you guys have a wonderful day. Talk to me in the comments. TTFN.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

 

One thought on “Losts Girls by Merrie Desefano Review

Leave a Reply

