December Wrap Up

I decided to do a wrap up this month and show you what I’ve read. If I did a review then there will be a link attached for you to go check out. Otherwise I’ll just tell you what I thought.

10194157

  1. I FINALLY started the Grisha Trilogy. Of course I loved it. I’m team darkling. I’ve already been spoiled for the ending BUT I can still dream. I never thought I would hate a “childhood best friend” character. But dang if Mal doesn’t make me want to punch him then push him down a hill. I’ve already ordered the next two with a gift card I recieved. BWAHAHA
  2. Β green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

18775119

2. I was reccomended this book by two different booktubers who compared it to Death Note. I will say that I enjoyed it. Not as much as Death Note but I did enjoy it. The story had some great internal and external conflict. The story line was catching. I half expected this one thing to happen and it didn’t. I won’t be shouting Monster from the rooftops but if you like a little thriller manga then I suggest you check it out.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03
Glorious Graphics Review

1713186919358975

3. Next I read volumes 2 & 3 of Saga. I own the first one and read it this past summer. I highly recomend this graphic for anyone who likes character journeys, diversity, and/or to laugh and cry while reading the same work. Saga will go down as a favorite.

Β green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

20338342

4. I read When by Victoria Laurie. A girl who can read everyone’s death date off their forehead gets herself tangled up the town’s serial murder case.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

When by Victoria Laurie

8621462

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness for the Once Upon A Read Along book club. The movie is coming out January 6th so I was super excited to read this. This is about a boy who is visited by a monster every night. The monster tells him three stories and slowly befriends Connor. I highly reccomend picking this book up, reading, then heading out to the movie.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03otherstar

25814105
6. I read vol 2 of Giant Days. This volume was pretty good. I love these girls and their daily like unfolding. I wasn’t fully in love with it due to some unnecessary drama but I did enjoy it.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

27248586

7. FinallyΒ I read Lumberjanes vol 4. Once again I wasn’t as impressed with this volume as the previous ones. But I did enjoy it a lot. The fantasy part is kicked up a notch. And Jo struggles with some inner feelings when the LumberJanes are accompanied by Barney on their latest escapade. He is having a hard time fitting in with the guys and doesn’t feel like he belongs there.

green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03green-star-cutout-19976-03

11 thoughts on “December Wrap Up

  1. Holly says:

    Oooh you make me really want to read Shadow and Bone! I’ve had an ebook copy for ages but just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I guess my 2017 is already growing!
    Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lindseyhabets says:

    Oh, the Grisha trilogy is one of my all-time favorites ❀ Glad you enjoyed Shadow and Bone! The Darkling definitely is one of the best characters ever πŸ™‚ I have A Monster Calls on my shelf but I still have to read it. I know it'll be amazing but I keep procrastinating because I feel it will be heartbreaking πŸ˜‰ Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sydneysshelves says:

      A Monster Calls was def heartbreaking. I almost cried, and I rarely cry when reading. But I’m excited for the movie, and I’m trying to not let myself see movies if the book is on my tbr. I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  3. Lori says:

    Yay Shadow and Bone!! I’m happy to hear you liked it. I never really loved Mal either, but did love the series. I’ve been seeing Saga around everywhere. I’ve never read a graphic novel, but I might have to check that one out.

    Thanks for linking up on Saturday Situation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

