Top 16 Best Reads of 2016

Today’s top 16 is about my favorite books!! YAY! Most of these you’ve heard me talk about before so there shouldn’t be any surprises. Here we go.

16. Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

17571742

One of my new adult stories this year. And it was just so real and raw. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

15. Cress by Marissa Meyer

13206828

I hated Fairest but I cannot get enough of Cress and Thorne. I loved this one cover to cover. THRESS FTW.

14. In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang

20575446

I thoroughly enjoyed this graphic novel about video game life. It was so fun to read!

13. Giant Days by Allison, Treiman, and Cogan

25785993

This graphic was just so relatable. I may be 3 years out of college and 9 years past freshman year of college. But I get these girls. I remember my own group of friends from freshmam year. And the experiences portrayed in this volume were just on point.

12. Yes Please by Amy Poehler

20827363

I laughed so much while listening to this audiobook. Please go out and listen to this woman talk about acting, motherhood, and friendship. You body will thank you for the giggles it will surely provide.

11. Hello Me, It’s You collab

32078947

This book was one of three that made me cry this year. I sobbed like a baby. It’s a bunch of 18-24 year olds with mental illnesses talking to their younger selves. If you or someone you know struggles with mental illness read this book. It will give you hope and break your heart simultaneously.

10. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

23305614

This was a wonderful portrayal of social anxiety. I adore Kinsella’s chick lit type writing. Its easy to read and feels like devouring a donut. So sweet I want more!.

9. You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614

I continuously caught myself rooting for the bad guy. None of the characters are very likable but here’s the thing, they aren’t supposed to be. They are flawed. And I loved this book.

8. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

It seems like everyone loves this book. Which made me nervous to start it. But the storytelling style pulled me in and I couldn’t get enough of Kady and Aiden. I’ve always enjoyed epistolary type stories. So that just made this book more fun. And now I can say I like something in science fiction!

7. The Pants Project

30095473

This is sort of cheating because this novel isn’t even out yet, but I read it this year and I can’t not sing it’s praised. It’s the story of a trans middle school boy. It was a beautiful story full of emotion and controversy. But it was handled so well.

6. LumberJanes by Noelle Stevenson

22554204

This story of friendship and fantasy had me smiling with every page. I love this girls, they are my precious cinnamon rolls!

5. The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter

24724627

I will sing the praises of this book until the day I die. I push it on everyone. Especially those that like mental illness stories. It made me cry. I could relate to the main character’s struggles with college. Having a mental illness while experience college for the first time is painful and so very hard. Anyway just please pick this up. Out of all these books, pick up this one.

4. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

I started this trilogy after reading Six of Crows and I love it so much. The Darkling is my new favorite villian. And Alina is #goals.

3. Ruined by Amy Tintera

26074185

I’ve talked about this book before. But I love stories where royalty infiltrates the enemy with intentions of war only to fall in love with the enemy. Ruined was so good and I highly enjoyed it.

2. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

17399160

I Thoroughly enjoyed this book. So much so I ran out and purchased the next two right after reading this one. Meira is now one of my favorite characters. I loved seeing this story unfold.

And coming in at number 1 is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

I loved every minute of this read. It made me nervous, excited, and heartbroken all in the same 300 + pages. I delighted in these characters. I can’t wait to see more of them.

Well that’s all for my favorite reads of 2016. Comment down below and tell me some of your favorite reads of 2016. I hope y’all are having a good day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

17 thoughts on “Top 16 Best Reads of 2016

      1. TeacherofYA says:

        Oh, no, I read YA all the time! But your genres in YA range quite a bit. See, I read mainly YA fantasy or science fiction. I have yet to read a contemporary YA book. I need to read some, and more historical fiction, and maybe some thrillers. But I’m stuck in fantasy worlds bc I love the magic and suspension of disbelief!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Lori says:

    You have so many awesome books on your list! Yay SoC and Shadow and Bone! I LOVE Leigh Bardugo’s books so much. Crooked Kingdom was my favorite book of the year. It was phenomenal! I think that I had The First Time She Downed on my most anticipated of 2016 list and then didn’t read it. I really should get to it. It sounds amazing.

    Hope you have a happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kimberlyfaye says:

    I read Ten Tiny Breaths ages ago, but it’s still one of my absolute favorites. I only read Cress last year and I loved it. It didn’t make the final cut for my own Top 16, but it was really close. Such a great book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

