Smashing Dashing Character Awards

This Tag/Award System was created by Cait at Paper Fury

 

1.MOST RELATABLE CHARACTER

download

While I’ve never lived with an oppressive step mother who’s goal in life was to make me submissive and miserable… I have had a mental illness that made me dibilitated me to the point of not knowing what was real.  I totally understand her feelings about her disability and just wanting to fall onto the floor and cry. There was just something about Winter that made me say, “Yes, that’s what it’s like.” “Girl I just want to hug you.”

2. MOST PURE AND PRECIOUS ANIMAL COMPANION

4d6a609fe0d78f9a643ba3f2ffb2505b

Basically I started Sailor Moon Crystal this year and hello talking cats. 🙂 Yes please. I Love you Luna!

3. FIERCEST FIGHTER

All of the Rat Queens are pretty bad ass. They won’t let anyone tell them what to do. They fight trolls and monsters. I just loved this series. From TMI series there is Isobel. Because like duh! She slays. From fashion to fighting, Isobel is my girl crush. Finally there is Faythe from Stay. Born as a werecat and daughter of the alpha Faythe knows how to protect herself.She forces her dad to give her independence.

4. MOST AMAZING SIDEKICK

3109884-sailor_mercury_by_megatopsy.png

I really tried to find another book series. But I can’t help it. I LOVE Sailor Mercury. She’s smart and can manipulate water. I don’t know I like the smart ones.

491304fcc12af6e17be099134f49bc20

5. ONE YOU’RE SURPRISED YOU LOVED

Why I was suprised.
a) Ruined had terrible ratings at the time I picked it up. Everyone was saying how it was so typical and mediocre. But DAMN I loved this book. I loved it so much I intend to finish this trilogy. And we all know what a mood reader I am. So that doesn’t happen as often as I like.

b) Ms. Marvel was my very first comic. I was hesitant about starting comics. Especially since the few superhero comics I’d browsed had this art style that just wasn’t appealing to me. But I can safely say that I adore MS. Marvel and continued reading the available volumes. She is diverse, smart, loyal, curious, and a seeker of Justice all at once. This girl does NOT sleep on the job. I’m so glad I was wrong about comics. They make me like…

raw

6. BEST SASSMASTER

23395680

Kady is an strong and phenomenal character. One of her many many strengths is humor in a serious/desperate situation. Her whit was much appreciated and loved.

michael-scott-failing-to-hold-in-laughter

7. BEST ANTI-HERO AND MORALLY GREY GRAPE

23437156

Does anyone ever not pick these characters for this question? I’m just saying… I love this whole cast and vastly enjoyed reading about them. Inej and Nina rea my favorites. Like they know they come with history but as one of my favorite quotes says, “We are all someone’s Monster.”

8. BEST WORST VILLAIN TO HATE

Fairest_Cover.jpeg

I can’t talk about hatable villians not mention Queen Levana. Hear me out. I am all for a good retelling where the villian has some tragic back story. Mom took me to go see Wicked one year at the Fox and I died of excitement. Yes I’m now a blogging ghost. It’s cool I don’t need to worry about being fat.

Anyways. Queen Levana HAD a sad history of emotional abuse and a family that didn’t appreciate her. *Oh the feels* But as I was reading her story all I could think was “Really?” At what point in her personal pain did she decide “Oooh I think being an awful CRAZY bitch, killing people, and taking this world DOWN” was a good idea. There was no real goal to her revenge until Cinder. And honestly, why Cinder? She has all this devotion to destroying her and for what purpose? She LITERALLY lost her mind, which in hindsight make the character of Winter ironic. But Levana was just all this insanity mix with personal pain that had no direction. We were scared of her but I didn’t understand her villiany motives. Usually they have a game plan and this lady was just like “I’m gonna be GRR all the time and get what I want.” Petulant if you ask me.

9. TRULY ASTOUNDING WORST YA PARENTS

24724627

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner for The First Time She Drowned. This mother is a piece of cake. She starts out showing some real favoritism to her son and emotionally abusing her daughter Cassie. She is constantly loving on her son and telling him he is amazing. She wants to spend time alone with him. (Honestly I thought she was sexually abusing the son by the way the mom behaved.) But she is downright abhorrent to her daughter. She blames Cassie for everything wrong in the family. #NOTaspoiler. Finally the mother puts Cassie in a mental hospital where she can’t escape till she’s 18. She rarely visits and doesn’t pick Cassie up when she is finally released. Yeah… what a hooker.

 

10. TRULY ASTOUNDING BEST YA PARENTS

11. TOOT TOOT BEST SHIP OF THEM ALL

10194157

I’ve been spoiled for the end of this series. But don’t rain on my parade. #Darklina all the way. I can’t put my feels into words about this couple. They are my babies and you shall not hurt them.

12. THE MOST IN NEED OF PROTECTION

22554204

This young adult graphic novel centers around 5 girls at a girlscout type camp with fantasy elements. I sped through reading these and hold each girl near to my heart. Ripley though is such a sweet little cinnomen roll that needs protecting. Girl friend is always jumping into things without thinking. She is obviously the youngest. She’s so cute and vibrant. She speaks without filtering. She laughs easy. And genuinely loves her bunkmates. PROTECT AT ALL COSTS

13. MOST BORING AS A BARNACLE

Between the lines had me such a good premise guys!! A girl talking to a character in a book?!? Every reader’s dream. But this story was not my dream story. I was so bored the entire time. I couldn’t even put myself through the second book in the series. The main characters were bland and nothing HAPPENED until the end. UGH.

As for A Study in Charlotte, well Jamie and Charlotte were little caricatures of their ancestors. They are supposed to be descendants of the original Sherlock and Watson but they were the exact SAME. They had nothing unique or that was personal to their personality. Charlotte did heroine and played violin. She was incredibly awkward. Jamie studied science and was a great sidekick. He starts not trusting Charlotte and then begins to have feelings for her.. DUDE. I wanted a retelling not plagiarism of the original books.

giphy

14. BEST LITTLE ROYAL

Ruined’s Emelina, Em for short, is nothing short of extraordinary. . Princess Em puts her life on the line for her country when her country doesn’t even believe in her. She has no magical powers yet she can fight for herself. She understands the art of war. I just hardcore am in awe of her.

For the Crown I am cheating. The main character is Eadlyn who I kinda hated in The Heir. Just being honest. Though Eadlyn did come around for me, I will always be inspired by America Singer. She is kind, loving, honorable, funny, and just a great ruler and mother. I was sad to see the series go if only b/c I wanted more about Maxon and America.

15. VERY SURPRISED YOU’RE STILL ALIVE

21943246

Britt trains for this big hiking in the cold adventure. (Someone really needs to explain fun to this girl.) Britt then finds herself stranded and seeks   shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants—but these men  take her hostage and leave her best friend behind and injured. Britt now has to guide these two jerks off the mountain. The whole time you’re thinking “Dumb move. You gonna die.” And for the icing on the cake… Britt FALLS IN LOVE with one of her captors. “He can’t really be that bad.”

 iwkad22

 

16. BEST AT HORRIBLE DECISION MAKING

20338342

In my review yesterday I think I mentioned how Maddy and her friend Stubbs made the stupidiest decisions. They find themselves tangled up in a murder and Maddy’s uncle is their lawyer. He will give them a direct order then knowing the implications and effects their actions will have they do the opposite. AKLHSADKHLASD. I wanted to strangle them both and just offer them up to the killer as punishment. LISTEN to your lawyer!

17. CUTEST DORK

23309862

Samantha Kemi and her love interest Zain are so dorky it’s cute. They are both science/potion geeks. But they have this layer of awkwardness about their friendship and it was so endearing to read about.

18. CLEVEREST LITTLE HELLION

Legacy of Kings’ Katerina was so sneaky and clever. I loved seeing her make trouble for other people while searching out the truth of her family. She knows her strengths and weaknesses and uses them to her advantage to creep through Alexander’s castle. Love her!

Rachel is determined to find her memories. What I think made her a clever hellion was that she had secret fighting skills that she did NOT remember learning. She purposely puts her self in danger because she wants to avenge the other girls who would kidnapped. And she uses her ninja skills against those that won’t tell her the truth.

19. MOST IN NEED OF A NAP

10088114

The kids think they are going to a prestigious private school. But instead they are unknowingly cutoff from their parents and then put through torturous simulations in order to bend them to the headmaster’s will. Seriously, I only read book one and spent the entire time going  “WTH”. These kids need a giant nap and some personal time.

20. WANT TO READ MORE ABOUT YOU

I sincerely enjoyed both of these graphics. The cast of characters are funny, entertaining, and relatable. I really look forward to continuing on in each series.

Well that’s all for my Smashing & Dashing Book awards. If you want to do this then I tag you! Let me know down in the comments a book series you want more of. I’ll see y’all later.

 

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

One thought on “Smashing Dashing Character Awards

Leave a Reply

