Audiobook Discussion

 

Today I want to talk about audio books. Spoken word recordings first came about  with the invention of the phonograph by Thomas Edison in 1877.[1] “Phonographic books” were one of the original applications envisioned by Edison which would “speak to blind people without effort on their part.” Though spoken word recordings were around on vinyl for for teachers and churches to use with their students, they didn’t become super popular until the wide sell of cassette tapes. I remember seeing them in my library as a child. They are a thing. Some people love them. Enough people that they are gonna be here a while.

I have never really been overly excited about audio books.As a child I stopped enjoying being read to once I was able to read myself. I felt like I was being forced to slow down and of course listen. Two things I am not good at. Like at all. I hate being still. haha.

Well this fall I wanted to try getting into some audio books because everyone in the book community raves about them. “You can do laundry while you read!” “You can drive and read!” I figured that it would be better to ease into this listening to books business. And to ease into it, I thought I’d start with a humor book “Yes Please” by Amy Poehler. My reasoning was twofold. 1) It would be quipy and funny so I wouldn’t have to worry about being bored. I already loved her. 2) As a nonfiction humor memoir it would be read by Amy herself. So I figured it would be like listening to standup comedy. Let me just tell you… this was a great idea on my part. I loved this book. I had a physical copy too so I could slip through the pictures. Poehler’s writing voice is so similar to here comedic acting voice. It was totally enjoyable and I found myself laughing out loud pretty regularly. If you have ever loved Parks n Rec or SNL then I highly suggest this audio books. There was something special about hearing Amy actually speak these words and share her heart while making me spit up milk. I was suddenly a fan of being read to.

So the next thing I did was download a young adult fiction novel to see if I still felt the same. I picked “Star-Touched Queen” by Roshani Chokski. I had tried read the physical copy from my local library but I couldn’t get INTO the story in the first few chapters. I wasn’t gripped. Well the audio is narrated by Priya Ayyar. Her authentic indian accent really lent itself to this particular story. It drew me in like I was listening to my best friend from middle school tell me a great story. I haven’t finished it but I’m thinking I will.

How do you guys feel about audio books? Do you enjoy them on a regular basis? Are they part of your routine? Or are you just not into listening to your reading? Let me know down in the comments. I really want to talk about this. I hope you guys are having a blessed day!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

One thought on “Audiobook Discussion

  1. ashley says:

    I’ve never listened to audio books. One reason is that I feel like I can read a physical book a lot faster. I have heard that the Harry Potter audiobooks are worth listening to though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

