10 Reasons I’ll add books to my TBR.

I recently saw a post like this on my fellow blogger Paper Fury and I thought I’d make a similar one. When I’m in a book buying frenzy I don’t always run through a list of requirements. Nope! I’m high on the smell of new books. I’ll buy the book if one of the following is true.

10. Have I been recommended this book a zillion and one times.

Whether its by a friend or by another blogger, if I have been pushed and pushed to read a book there is a good chance it’ll show up in my hands at some point. I mean I trust my awesome friends. And If they want someone to discuss this awesome book with. Who am I deny them this freedom. Right? I’ll figure out if i like it later. In the cart it goes.

9. If it’s about mental health issues.

I’ve mentioned this before but I have quite the love for books that have anything to do with the mental health field. Once one of these books is in my hands at the books store, it is hard for me to put it back on the shelf. I want to read about relatable characters. I want to see these characters grow and blossom. For instance I cannot wait to read List of Cages. I have no idea what the plot is just that there is a kid with ADHD in it. Goes on the TBR.

8. If I’ve previously enjoyed this author.

If I’ve already read any of the authors other works and enjoyed them thoroughly then I’m going to hunt for their other books. Like when I come across Meg Cabot books I always give them a try because I have loved so many of her others. I don’t think about what could have changed or the different plot in this series. I just think, “YAY MEG CABOT!”

7. If there is the promise of dragons.

This became a joke between me and a few of my highschool friends, but I love books about dragons. Ever since reading “The Enchanted Forest Chronicles” by Patricia Wrede in late elementary school I have loved dragons. They fly, they’re dangerous, and they defend their own. I will always love them! And you can’t change me! sticks out tongue

6. If it’s a YA Mystery/Thriller.

We are starting to get more and more of these. But this used to be a subgenre that was hard to find as a bookstore walk in. You had to do your research in order to find what you were looking for. But I have always loved a good mystery. If a YA book is advertised as one you can bet I will get my hands on it. I love trying to figure out the ending before the protagonist and saying to myself, “Told you so!” “I knew it!” I probably shouldn’t announce that I talk to myself. But oh well. 😀

5. If it’s a fractured fairy tale.

This is also known as a retelling. But I use the technical term because my favorite retellings aren’t actually a retelling of the fairy tale. But they tell you what happened before the villain was evil, or what happens after happily ever after. I already know the fairy tale, and its hard for me to love the stories where they just rewrite the tale with a few tweaks. But when you add some of your own imagination to it suddenly I am dying to get my hands on it. I’m all about that fairy tale life.

4. It’s typical YA fantasy.

I am YA fantasy trash. I love it. I know it seems like plot lines are being recycled and there are fewer and fewer stories that are unique. But when I like someone, I go big or go home. And this time I choose to devour every book in site. I love the world building, the princesses, the kingdoms fighting each other. It all just makes me very happy. internal sigh Those always get added to my TBR.

3. The cover is pretty.

I’d say I was ashamed. But I don’t have the time or energy to be ashamed for this. When book covers have my asethetics (Teal, Purpal, Coral) then I am %60 more likely to purchase a book. I just love those colors and want to see them everywhere I go. What’s this book about? I guess I’ll find out soon. It’s purple and that is what matters. I will say this has lead to many an unread book on my personal shelves. But I still haven’t amended the practice. #whoops.

2. It’s about a subject that I’m looking forward to learning about.

When I decide I want to dip my feet into a cetrain genre I have a tendency to go overboard. I recently tried my first audio book. It was a humor memoir, which I thought would be like listening to stand up comedy. It was! So I then added 10 more similar books in audio form to my overdrive wishlist. Um… what? I hope I get to them all. Earlier this year I wanted to get into time travel books. So I added “Passenger” by Alexandra Bracken and”The Girl from Everywhere” by Heidi Heilig. I did read “The Girl From Everywhere” but I haven’t gotten around to Passenger. What can I say? I think I’m dipping my feet in when really I’m diving in head first.

1. Because I saw someone else talking about how great it is.

I’m the worst about this. I hear someone similar in age gushing about a book and then weirdly it ends up in my hands. Strangers will tell me how awesome this book they just read is and I’m just nodding and smiling. Then I rush to that section of the store and simply must have a copy. It’s how I roll. And why my TBR is never ending. But that’s a story for another day.

I hope you enjoyed this list. Let me know in the comments some reasons you by books. I hope you have a wonderful week!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

2 thoughts on “10 Reasons I’ll add books to my TBR.

  1. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight says:

    Hahha these are GREAT! And so, so true. I am definitely guilty of the cover one. AND if people are gushing, I need to know what the fuss is about. I always cave on recommendations too- and the people are usually right of course 😉 The author and mental health ones are big for me too! This is such a fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

