Bookish Thanksgiving Tag

This Tag was created by Becca & Erica at Fangirlscity. I tagged myself because I wanted a Thanksgiving Tag. The first 10 questions are the original questions, but I added four because I only eat/experience 3 of the original ten things every year. I’m from North Georgia and we eat different stuff. Here we go!

  1. Bread: What book is purely fluff and has no real plot?

    93722
    The Boy Next Door if the first book in Meg Cabot’s Boy series. In every book there is a girl and a guy and they get together. This entire series is what my mom and I call mind mush. No real plot but fun to read because it’s easy and fluffy. Also Cabot’s writing is pretty funny, making it something to reach for when you just don’t want intense reading.

 2. Turkey: What book made you want to fall asleep?

15839984

This was slightly hard for me because If a book is putting me to sleep then I start skimming, then ultimately put it down. I’m not gonna force myself to read something I don’t enjoy. But I checked this out form the library a while back and wanted to enjoy it. It’s a retelling for goodness sakes! I LOVE retellings. However I just couldn’t get into it. The character’s weren’t my favorite and the story was odd.

3. Gravey: What book makes the whole series worth reading?

13206828

Unpopular opinion time I struggled through a lot of this series. Scarlet (the book) drove me nuts because the character’s were all split up and when it would change from one POV to the next, the storytelling was redundant. Fairest made me mad, which I’ll get into in another question. And the character of Cinder made me annoyed half the time. She wouldn’t just do something, take the stand for her people, decide what direction she wanted to go. But the book Cress was fantastic. I would reread the series if only to get to Cress and Thorne. *cue fangirling* I love this retelling of Rapunzel and how it is both true to the story and unique in it’s own way. I highly suggest reading this series.

4. Stuffing: What book is stuffed with action scenes?

17399160

This book was so fantastic. I am usually have a hard time reading every word during super intense action sequences. Not this book. Every fight, every throw, every battle I grabbed onto each word so I could feel each scene. I cannot wait to get to the second book in the series.

5. Mashed Potatoes: What book looked good, then suddenly wasn’t?

25915563

When I started reading this I thought it was going to be this sweet little southern romance. It started out with a decent plot and I liked where the book was headed. Then the main character started acting different from the girl I first read about. She attaches too much meaning to a relationship which irked me, only to later fall in love with the first guy’s brother. Ew.

6. Cranberries: What book has the sweetest romance?

6686671

I love this manga! Teru is a student who sometimes makes a mess. One of her messes causes her to have to do chores/ community service at school with the janitor Tasuku. Teru is always on the phone her brother gave her talking to the mysterious Daisy. She has no clue who he is but he is always there for her. So starts the beginning of one of my favorite romances

7. Corn on the cob: What book is the corniest?

6853
The basic plot is the same for each book within the series. There is someone who has jumped bail and Stephanie Plum needs to catch them. All while solving a mystery. The main protagonist has two major guys that she switches between every third book. But what makes this series worth reading is that it is laugh out loud funny. I would be reading it during downtime at work and bust out laughing, multiple times per book. I LOVE Stephanie Plum.

8. Greenbeans: What book is too long and needs to be shortened?

8755776

This book took entirely too long to get through. Characters made stupid choices that in my opinion, set them back in their character development. “WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?!?!” The action takes place in the beginning and in the end. The middle I felt like had Two Towers Syndrom. Going places and fun scenery. Yet going nowhere. Oh except backwards. Magnus is fun and Simon is actually enjoyable for me. But Clary is…one of my least favorite heroines ever in this book.

9.Pumpkin Pie: What do you read to get you out of a reading slump?

25785993

For me it’s any graphic novel. Switching to pictures and less words for a day helps my mood greatly. Maybe I’m a kid after all? The most recent graphic novel that has helped out was Giant Days. This is about three girls going to university and their everyday struggles. Seems ordinary but it was so relatable that I couldn’t put it down.

10. Dog/Cat: What is your favorite food to eat for thanksgiving? 

I’m all about my grandmother’s Baked Beans, Fried Okra, and Pasta. Oh and my dad’s Prailines. YUM 

11. Deviled Eggs: What type of villain are you most invested in, if at all?

So remember me saying I didn’t like Fairest? That’s because I hate when the Villain’s reasoning for their actions is built solely on “I was scorned!” It makes them sound so childish suddenly. No, you need something extra! Like in Wicked, Elphaba wanted to see change AND had been scorned. That being said my favorite villains have one of two motives: 1) They just enjoy causing chaos. Think the REAL Joker from the comics. He just enjoyed giving Batman crap. 2) They consider the the choices of their country/friends/people ect to be morally and politically wrong. This leads them to think their vision is THE RIGHT WAY and the only way goals can be accomplished. A good example is Valentine in The Mortal Instruments. The shadow hunters are making dumb decisions so he must take control and fix it. Or Light from Deathnote. He truly believes he is riding the world of evil.

12.Fried Okra: What book has a personal meaning to you?

23305614

This is the story of Audrey and she suffers from anxiety. While I don’t suffer from social anxiety I do have Generalized Anxiety Disorder. Finding Audrey is about her discovery that mental illness isn’t something you just get over. Our life graphs don’t just go straight up. There are dips, divots, and hills because Mental Illness is about management and progress. You WILL have moments where it feels like you’re going backwards. You’ll have bad days. But the journey is about using your health toolbox to stand back up and go again. I can’t really put into words how meaningful that is.

14. Sweet Tea: What type of story will you always read?

Character infiltrates another kingdom in order to fight for their kingdom. It’s an over done cliche in YA. But I love it so much that I don’t care. I love princesses, assassins, and warriors. I love the secrecy when they are hiding their identity. I love seeing the main character’s overcome their differences to fall in love. And I just love the fantasy aspect of each story. One of my favorites that is never mentioned is Princess in the Opal Mask by Jenny Lundquist. A princess, Wilhelmina,  has to go meet her betrothed. She finds out she is a twin, when the king’s administration makes her switch places with her twin for safety. Well Wilha decides that the switch should be a little longer so she can get some freedom. Great book, as was it’s sequel.

17290682

15. Kid’s Table: What is a picture book that you love and also is profound?

56728

This book means a lot to me.It’s such a beautiful representation of one of life’s biggest struggles: when we let other people decide our worth.  Even as an adult it reminds me that my value doesn’t come from my friends or enemies opinions but from Christ. You are going to have days where people talk about you. You’re going to have days where your friends are so encouraging. But letting your happenstances mark you with stars and grey dots will only bring depression, anxiety, and more.

One thought on “Bookish Thanksgiving Tag

Leave a Reply

