Top Ten Tuesday

Thanksgiving is in two days! Let me start off by saying that for the longest time Thanksgiving was my favorite holiday. I loved eating my great grandmother’s cooking and sitting around with my family and just feeling “home”. It is a feeling that many people don’t experience ever in their lifetime with blood-relations and I am so incredibly grateful for those moments. However I moved to Austin in September of 2015 leaving my close knit family in a small town in Georgia. Last year Thanksgiving turned into Friendsgiving. Thus my favorite holiday is now representation of the change in my life. New traditions are being formed and bonds created. I’m embracing the change with joy.

Every year at thanksgiving my family would go around the table and say something we were thankful for. Which leads me to today’s Top Ten Tuesday : Top Ten Things I am Thankful for. For me personally 2016 has been a struggle. It hasn’t been one of those years I’d want to repeat. But I’ve found that taking time to stop, be still, and truly consider my year has reminded me that I have so much to be grateful for and I should always be looking up and not down. So here is my list in no particular order this time. (P.S. only three of these have to do with books )

  1. Stepped up my knitting game.

    This past Spring I found out that my church has a prayer shawl ministry that meets twice a month. I quickly joined and met some wonderful women. And It’s helpped me step up my performance. I started making christmas and birthday presents in August for my family because a) they are so many and b) more than half have a Novemeber/December birthday so they needed two presents. I started with 23 items and I have 3 left!

  2. I got a job!

    Anyone who knows me, knows that I struggled after graduation to find a job. I was unemployed for almost 2 years. But this past October I reached out to my church and got a part time job doing childcare 2-4 times a week. This has dramatically changed my mood, my outlook on life, and my circle of friends. I am so blessed to finally have a job.

  3. I was able to visit with my family two times.

    As I mentioned before, I’m from Georgia and currently living in Texas. It’s expensive to see my family. Yet twice this year I was able to see them In March my mom and dad came to visit Austin and in June I went back to Georgia and saw my entire family. It was so uplifting and peaceful to see my grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, parents and brothers all in a two week span. Plus my oldest brother got engaged while I was there and now I have a new sister! (I’ve always wanted a sister.)

  4. Penpals

    This past May I posted an ad for pen pals on two different websites and had many people respond. A few dropped off but there are two or three that I’ve become quite close with. I now cherish each letter I receive.

  5. Learned how to cook

    Before this year I did not know how to cook anything but eggs and macaroni. True story. I was all about the microwave. However, after burning a few items early on, I can make full meals! #AdultingGoals. You don’t know how happy this makes me.

  6. Young At Heart Bookclub

    I found a bookclub in my town for adults who read YA. I’ve sincerely enjoyed discussing great and awful books with them. One of them has become my best Austin friend. We hang out at least once a week and see what kind of adventures are awaiting us.I’m so thankful I met Carroll at Young at Heart. She has no idea how much she changed my weekends.

  7. Narcolepsy

    I’ve had sleep issues all my life. This May I finally found out what was wrong and received the help I’ve been wanting since I was a child. I’m narcoleptic (which is nothing like what media portrays it as.) I’m finally getting a full nights sleep at night and I’m awake and productive during the day.

  8. Texas Teen Book Festival

    This year I went to the Texas Teen Book Festival in Austin, Texas. I was able to meet a favorite author and a favorite booktuber, TheReadingWallflower. It was so much fun going to panels and meeting other readers. I can’t wait to go back next year.

  9. Graphic Novels

    This year I decided finally to branch out in Graphic Novels. And Holy Cow did I love them. What was I waiting on? I don’t know. But I’m never going back.

  10. Gilmore Girls

    Finally, this year we get a Gilmore Girls revival. In fact in 3 days time I’ll be on FaceTime or Skype with my mom while we watch it “together.” We watched every single live episode together. In fact Rory graduated the year and month I graduated High School. This is the first time we won’t be physically together but I won’t let that stop us. We ARE Lorelai and Rory, and for 8 hours I get to return to our little corner of the world. I cannot wait!

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

