Top Ten Tuesday

Today is Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday was originated by The Broke and Bookish.  Today’s topic is about movies. I have too many favorites so I narrowed down the category to my favorite book to move adaptation. FOR ME making it my favorite means one of three things.  One, I love the movie adaptation better than the book. Two, I loved the book and the movie was pretty close a adaptation.Or three I loved the movie before reading the book so the fact that it’s not close doesn’t bother me. All of these books I HAVE read. So here we go!

p31465_p_v8_ab

Coming in at number ten is Holes by Louis Sacher. I LOVED this book as a kid. I laughed and laughed. The movie has a similar effect.  Great book and movie.

maxresdefault

Number nine is P.S. I Love you by Cecilia Ahern. I remember crying while reading this and I DO NOT cry when reading. Which honestly is odd because I am an emotional person. This movie is my go to when I need a sob fest. When I have stuff built up inside of me and don’t want to cry all alone I put this movie on and instant tears! My favorite scene is the one where Holly throws her shoes at her husband, then talks to them while picking them up. Love it.

p175989_d_v8_aa

Here we are with number eight, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist! I saw this movie before I realized it was book. I of course devoured the book. I was kind of a music junkie during my young adult and college life. So movies relating top music where kind of my jam. This movie was pretty accurate to the book and a must watch for lovers of music and/or David Leviathan.

Number seven is the Sisterhood of the traveling pants! I was obsessed with these books as a kid. They so closely parralled my own life that it was painful. Painful because I moved away from my sisterhood in 8th grade and our friendships promptly fell apart. The movies aren’t close to the books. I repeat NOT a fantastic adaptation. There are a two characters that have different personalities. And the second movie isn’t based on the second or third book but is closest to the fourth. Really it’s it’s own thing. But that didn’t stop me from loving these movies. Read the books, watch the movies, and remember that friendship is important.

fault

Here’s the thing about number six, I wasn’t a huge fan of this book to be honest. I mean it was good. But I had already spent so much of middle school years reading books about kids with cancer (Lurlane McDaniels) that it felt redundant. But this movie blew me away. Number one, the soundtrack is to die for. I still listen to it often. The other factor to this movie making the list is that it was the movie I saw on my first “non-date” with my husband. I had told him we could go as friends, not dates, for reasons. I started sobbing halfway through the movie and he looks over at me and says,”I know this isn’t a date but can I hug you or… I don’t know?” He starts gently patting my arm instead. hahaha. We were married a year and 3 months later.

pride-and-prejudice-header

Coming in at number five is Pride and Prejudice. The only reason this wasn’t further up the list is that the other choices all have memories attached to them. But I love both of these adaptation and Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books. I still remember watching these with my mother. She introduced me to my first elderly gentlemen crush Colin Firth. Which of course started my infatuation with British men. The mini series is more accurate simply because it is more spread out. The movie is still lovely, magical, and just gush worthy.

perks

So number four is The Perks of Being A Wallflower. Yes I do have a bit of a fascination with the mental health related books. My brother once asked me why I was making him watch “all this depressing stuff” ? Because its important, its relate able, and I like the stories.This book had a song for every chapter. And I loved how the movie incorporated those songs! Like they are the soundtrack. It’s always better when the writer is closely associated with the movie. This adaptation will break your heart. But it’ll be worth it.

the-princess-bride

Here we are at number three with The Princess Bride. I’m just gonna go ahead and say it: This movie is NOTHING like the book and I am so grateful. The movie has a funny tone with so many memorable quotes. I adore the grandfather reading the story to a sick, young Fred Savage. I can quote this movie all day. I have memorabilia from this movie. It was incorporated into my wedding. It’s definitely my favorite 80’s movie. If you haven’t seen it, “What are you doing with your life?”

open-uri20150422-12561-1jhjmgf_79152d34

Number two is a set of children’s books that were turned into movies in the 1960’s. They were later made into one DVD in the 2010’s. I had the original VHS tapes as a kid and let me tell you. They were worn the crap out. My parents say they were the only movies I would actually sit down and watch all the way through. To this day when it rains my dad will sing “And the rain rain rain comes down down down..” Winnie the Pooh will always have a special place in heart. I will be reading the books to my future kids and watching Tiger bounce forever

And Drumroll please…..

Number one is…

What? Look guys I can’t not put this in first. I STILL watch these movies, always back to back, and cry. The books were instrumental to my reading life in elementary school. I watched the VHS tapes probably a billion times. And I own both soundtracks and listen to them regularly. Plus both movies are pretty similar to their books.

Finally I want to give an honorable mention to

Of course I loved the Harry Potter movies. But I wanted to give some different answers. Also I am crazy about Howl’s Moving Castle but I’m still working on reading the book.

Well I hope you guys are having a fantastic day. Let me know in the comments if there’s an adaptation you love that I didn’t mention.

Teal Aqua Blue Purple Watercolor Paper Colorful Texture Background

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Katy Sauer says:

    P.S. I Love You makes me cry as well. I preferred the book but the movie had me in just as many tears. TFIOS is a movie I’ve been wanting to see after reading the book. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. pucksandpaperbacks says:

    The story about TFIOS being your first “date” with your husband is adorable!! I love the Perks of Being A Wallflower, hands down my favorite book-to-movie adaptation!! I wish Stephen Chbosky would write more books.

    Like

  3. KliScruggs says:

    I LOVE the version of Pride and Prejudice with Kiera Knightly. I didn’t like the book though. I’ve only seen the one with Colin Firth once, and I missed the last 20 minutes of it, so I’ll have to look again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

