The Pant’s Project

The Pant’s Project by Cat Clarke

Will Be Published March 7th 2017
Genres: Middle Grades, Contemporary, LGBTQIA
Source: NetGalley for review
Goodreads

 

30095473

I received this book for review  from the publisher through NetGalley for an honest review. But I wanted to read it before and I promise my opinions are my own though.

What’s it about?

“My name is Liv (Not Olivia)… I’m not technically a girl.

I’m Transgender. Which is a bit like being a transformer. Only not quite as cool as cool because I probably won’t get to save the world one day.”

A Transformer is a robot in disguise. Liv is a boy in disguise. It’s that simple. Liv knows he was always meant to be a boy, but with his new school’s terrible dress cod, he can’t even wear pants. Only skirts.

Operation: Pants Project begins! The only way for Liv to get what he wants is to go after it himself. But to Liv, this isn’t just a mission to change the policy- it’s a mission to change his life. And that’s a pretty big deal.

My Reactions throughout reading

tangled_____the_light_comes__by_nylah22-d5ww9ebimages%2farticle%2f2016%2f06%2f16%2fagzlcvelej

What I thought?

In the words of Chandler Bing, this was “perfection.” A Middle Grades book that discusses Transgender issues. I don’t mean skirts around or gets near the issue. I mean it got up close and personal. It made me think about one or two things that even I was approaching inadequately. It was so powerful to read this first person narrative about the difficulties a transgender middle school is going through. Liv discusses her anxieties about starting puberty and her name and obviously being forced to wear a skirt. I love that because Liv has already researched being transgender and comes from a communicative and loving family he is happy and certain of himself just the way he is. This makes his approach to being bullied so admirable. I was not able to ignore bullies at that age. But the maturity in this kid… man it was inspiring. I also loved that solving the skirt/pants issue was planned out. Liv didn’t storm the principal’s office demanding to be allowed to wear pants. Nope, he has a 3 phase plan and uses his rights and regular speaking voice to make changes.

I reveled in reading about the different types of friendships in this book. There was Jacob and Liv which I think really sets the tone for how we should treat the people we come in contact with. Transgender, Gay, POC, or your white best friend all deserve this type of respect and thoughtfulness. There was Maisie and Liv’s friendship that hit a major bump in the road that was more like a slow coming but painful stomach ulcer. Not so good, like at all. But this is real life and people are going to react badly in life situations. Liv handled his end beautifully. And finally there was the relationship between Liv and his brother Enzo. This shows us how families need to treat each other, with love and kindness, so that coming home is like taking a peaceful rest where you know you are accepted.

This book was spectacular! Please add it to your TBR.

My Rating

5/5 stars. I would give it more if I could.

One thought on “The Pant’s Project

Leave a Reply

