25 Bookish Facts

  1. I have been reading since I was in kindergarten. My parents read to me as a kid regularly and I always saw them reading so I just thought that’s what families did together.
  2. My family frequently discusses what we’re reading and our favorite books.
  3. My mom is an English teacher. She used to edit all my papers. She also helped in still in me a love of literature in general and taught me to be adventurous in my reading.
  4. Every pet in my family’s household (Not me and my husband but mom/dad/brother’s) has a name from Harry Potter. We’ve had Minerva, Nymphadora,Poppy, Padfoot, and Luna in the past. Currently my brother hasΒ a dog name Fawkes, my mom and dad have cat’s named Molly and Hermione, and I have a cat named Harry Potter.
  5. In the last year I’ve really gotten into Manga and graphic novels. They are amazing and totally will get you out of a reading slump.
  6. I usually read 2-3 books at a time. I usually have an ebook, a hardcopy, and a graphic novel in circulation at all times.
  7. That being said, I read 50% of my books on my iPad now.
  8. I am all about used books. In fact one of my big upsets about Texas is that Half Price Books is NOTHING like McKay’s.
  9. If it’s not a book by an author I love or that I know I love then I try and read it at the library first so I don’t waste money. It’s a newish policy I started back in January to ensure I wasn’t over spending.
  10. I always check out too many books from the library. I never know what I’ll be in the mood for.
  11. Also I’m a chronic book starter, read 2 chapters, then quit for another book. I don’t consider this DNF-ing because Its only 2 chapters. But basically I think I’ll enjoy a book but when I start reading it I realize I’m not in the right mindset for it.
  12. I enjoyΒ putting post – it notes in my books. I am actually sad that I can’t leave them in Library books.
  13. I rarely cry when reading. So If I do you know I was moved. But I laugh out loud constantly. I distinctly remember reading Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum novels in the math lab and cackling.
  14. I volunteered in a library of my old small town for 2 years. My favorite part was talking to strangers about what they should read next.
  15. I like the IDEA of reading outside but whenever I attempt it I get too hot, or itchy, or annoyed with how hard the ground is.
  16. The #1 place you’ll find me reading is in my king size bed, under 3 covers, with lots of pillows.
  17. My beverage of choice is coffee. Super strong and with cream. coffee coffee coffee!
  18. I try and not eat when I read b/c I hate getting smudges on the page. It physically upsets me when that happens.
  19. I’ve started collecting coffee mugs with quotes and character names on them.
  20. I hate the influx of novella’s and added material to books. No the book/series should be complete without having to read some 2.99 novella that is the same story from the other character’s point of view. Just leave your story alone and write something new!
  21. I have an addictive personality when it comes to books and their characters. I’ll start dressing like them and talking like them. It’s an issue.
  22. I’ve kept a journal since 6th grade. So now I have about 50 notebooks full of my thoughts. They are hilarious and heartbreaking to reread.
  23. I really love mystery/thriller but have never read anything considered “Horror”. I stay away from it b/c the jump scares in Horror movies give me nightmares. Plus I’m not a fan of a ton of blood and guts.
  24. I have an great appreciation for poetry and children’s books.
  25. My #1 book pet peeve is being interrupted while reading. My husband actually does this A LOT. He’ll see something on youtube and have to share it with me because he’ll forget otherwise. But after the first two times I get so annoyed.

 

I hope you enjoyed getting to know me better. Leave me a comment with your own bookish fact! Hope you are doing alright and finding peace in this chaos. See you later!

One thought on “25 Bookish Facts

Leave a Reply

