Top 10 books you’ve recently added to your TBR

It’s time for Top 10 Tuesday! Today’s topic is books I recently added to my TBR. You can always follow my TBR on Goodreads. Here are my the books I’m most excited about that I just added to my TBR.

In descending order.

10. Kat & Meg Concur The World by Anna Priemaza

About two teens who meet working on a science fair project and form the first real friendship either has ever had by bonding over panic attacks, ADHD, and their mutual obsession with a YouTube star who does walkthroughs of their favorite video game. It is scheduled for a fall 2017 release. 

I’m all about friendship books and mental illness is one of my buzz words when it comes to reading.

9. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Strange the Dreamer is the story of: 

the aftermath of a war between gods and men
a mysterious city stripped of its name
a mythic hero with blood on his hands
a young librarian with a singular dream
a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

I’m really excited about Laini Taylor’s writing style and the stories she tells. Also I’m very much interested in the Greek and Roman Gods. This sounds pretty great.

8. Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larsen

On her eighteenth birthday, Princess Evelayn of Eadrolan, the Light Kingdom, can finally access the full range of her magical powers. The light looks brighter, the air is sharper, and the energy she can draw when fighting feels almost limitless.

But while her mother, the queen, remains busy at the war front, in the Dark Kingdom of Dorjhalon, the corrupt king is plotting. King Bain wants control of both kingdoms, and his plan will fling Evelayn onto the throne much sooner than she expected.

In order to defeat Bain and his sons, Evelayn will quickly have to come into her ability to shapeshift, and rely on the alluring Lord Tanvir. But not everyone is what they seem, and the balance between the Light and Dark comes at a steep price.

So this sounds like your typical YA High Fantasy that we’ve been getting a lot of lately. But I have a confession for you. I’m obsessed with those stories. I also enjoyed Larsen’s other series, DEFY. So I have some high anticipation for this book.

7.Long May She Reign by Rhiannon Thomas

Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the intrigues of court. However, when an extravagant banquet turns deadly and the king and those closest to him are poisoned, Freya suddenly finds herself on the throne.

Freya may have escaped the massacre, but she is far from safe. The nobles don’t respect her, her councillors want to control her, and with the mystery of who killed the king still unsolved, Freya knows that a single mistake could cost her the kingdom – and her life.

Freya is determined to survive, and that means uncovering the murderers herself. Until then, she can’t trust anyone. Not her advisors. Not the king’s dashing and enigmatic illegitimate son. Not even her own father, who always wanted the best for her, but also wanted more power for himself.

As Freya’s enemies close in and her loyalties are tested, she must decide if she is ready to rule and, if so, how far she is willing to go to keep the crown.

Another fantasy. I’m kind of fantasy obsessed in case you hadn’t noticed. It’s a real life problem for me. 😉

6.Trail of Shadows and Blood by Carina King

Set in the futuristic world of Rapture, where fairy tales have always existed and are at war with humans. When Fyra Grimm is attacked in her home by a dragon, she discovers a frightening ability within her that can create, but also destroy.

Exiled from the Human compound, Fyra is sent into the unforgiving landscape that is the Dark Seas. Fyra is then kidnapped by brothers Echo the Wolf and Fuse the Huntsman, and brought to the Snow Queen, who believes she is the key to waging war on Humans and Fairy Tale creatures alike.

As Fyra is thrown deeper into a world she does not understand, anger and fear will unleash a power so dark and destructive that Rapture will fall to its knees.

Do I need to explain why I want to read this? lol. I’m fairytale obsessed and this one puts multiple characters together!! My favorite kind of retelling.

5. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

All her life, nineteen-year-old Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, mysterious Goblin King. He is the Lord of Mischief, the Ruler Underground, and the muse around which her music is composed. Yet, as Liesl helps shoulder the burden of running her family’s inn, her dreams of composition and childish fancies about the Goblin King must be set aside in favor of more practical concerns.

So this is a retelling of the Goblin King Fairy tale. I love seeing retellings of tales that aren’t usually discussed. This one seams pretty cool.

4. Black Birds of the Gallows by Meg Kessel

A teenage girl who discovers the new boy next door is a harbinger of death, and who must find a way to survive in a town destined for tragedy.

A Harbringer of DEATH?!? YES PLEASE. I have heard good things about Kessel’s other novel and it’s on my TBR. But the plot summary of this one just seams fantastic.

3. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie Dao

A reimagining of the evil queen from Snow White based on Asian folklore and mythology. In order to become Empress of Feng Lu, Xifeng must unleash a jealous god on the world and set free the viciousness of her own soul.

Yes Yes YES! So my husband is kind of obsessed with asian culture and mythology. He has rubbed off on me and now I’m super interested in it. I can’t wait to see how Dao turns this tale on its head.

2. Sea Witch by Sarah Hannings

This is tale about the origins of the sea witch from The Little Mermaid. I’m so excited about this because the Little Mermaid has been my favorite fairy tale since I was a child. At first it was all about the Disney version and when I got older I read the Hans Christian Anderson version and became immediately enamored. I am so excited to get more info about the sea witch and her story.

1.Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom

For sixteen-year-old Mel Hannigan, bipolar disorder makes life unpredictable. Her latest struggle is balancing her growing feelings in a new relationship with her instinct to keep everyone at arm’s length. And when a former friend confronts Mel with the truth about the way their relationship ended, deeply buried secrets threaten to come out and upend her shaky equilibrium.

If you know me personally you know why I’m excited about this story.It’s about mental illness and a particular one that is near to my heart. I will probably cry while reading this book. And I DO look forward to those feels.

 

I hope you all are having a wonderful day! Let me know in the comments if any of these sounds interesting to you!

4 thoughts on “Top 10 books you’ve recently added to your TBR

Leave a Reply

